Rachel York, Erin Weaver and Hello, Dolly! Honored at 30th Annual Helen Hayes Awards | Playbill

Related Articles
News Rachel York, Erin Weaver and Hello, Dolly! Honored at 30th Annual Helen Hayes Awards The 30th annual Helen Hayes Awards were presented April 21 at the National Building Museum in Washington, DC, the Washington Post reports.

Rachel York
Rachel York

The awards presentation, which consisted of a three-act show with two intermissions, featured a different format than previous years, including a less formal atmosphere with shorter acceptance speeches.

Acceptance speeches were limited to 30 seconds, and local performers Sam Ludwig, Rachel Zampelli and Ashleigh King sang winners off the stage when they had hit the limit. 

Winners included Round House Theatre’s Glengarry Glen Ross, which won Outstanding Director, Resident Play, going to Mitchell Hébert; The Robert Prosky Award for Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Play, which went to 
Rick Foucheux; and Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Play

The Kennedy Center’s The Book of Mormon was honored with Outstanding Supporting Performer, Visiting Production, which went to 
Samantha Marie Ware; Outstanding Lead Actor, Visiting Production
, which went to Christopher John O'Neill; and 
Outstanding Visiting Production. 

Hello, Dolly!, which was presented by Ford's Theatre and Signature Theatre, won Outstanding Choreography, Resident Musical, which went to 
Karma Camp; and Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Musical. It tied with Olney Theatre Center's A Chorus Line for Outstanding Resident Musical. Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company's production of Aaron Posner's Stupid F*cking Bird, which had received eight nominations, won Outstanding Resident Play and Outstanding New Play or Musical. 

Alan Paul received Outstanding Director, Resident Musical for Shakespeare Theatre Company's A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum. Rachel York won Best Actress for Anything Goes.

The Washington Post, in partnership with the Helen Hayes Awards, presented the award for Innovative Leadership in the Theatre Community to Adele Robey and Julia Robey Christian, co-founders of the Anacostia Playhouse.

More information and a complete list of winners can be found by visiting theatrewashington.org

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!