Recent, Long-Running Off-Broadway Production of Our Town Recoups Investment

News   Recent, Long-Running Off-Broadway Production of Our Town Recoups Investment
Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian and Tom Wirtshafter, who produced David Cromer's recent record-breaking production of Thornton Wilder's Our Town at the Barrow Street Theatre, announced Oct. 8  that the production recouped its entire investment.

Director David Cromer in Our Town
Director David Cromer in Our Town Photo by Carol Rosegg

The production, which ran for a total of 644 performances, was seen by nearly 100,000 theatre patrons and 15,000 students, and grossed over $4 million in the 152-seat West Village theatre.

“We are extremely pleased and honored to have presented this production,” the producers stated. “It allowed a whole new generation to rediscover this classic play and to experience all that is Off-Broadway.”

Cromer’s award-winning staging of Wilder’s play began performances on Feb. 17, 2009, with an official opening night on Feb. 26, 2009. Our Town went on to win Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Production and Outstanding Direction and Obie Award for Outstanding Director. It eventually became the longest-running production of the play in its 72-year history with its record-breaking 337th performance on Dec. 16, 2009.

There were seven actors who eventually played the role of the Stage Manager, including director Cromer, Scott Parkinson, Jason Butler Harner, Stephen Kunken, Michael Shannon, Michael McKean and Helen Hunt.

The closing cast of Our Town included Elizabeth Audley as Mrs. Soames, Jeremy Beiler as Simon Stimson, Robert Beitzel as Howie Newsome, Kati Brazda as Mrs. Webb, Will Brill as Joe Crowell, Jr, David Cromer as the Stage Manager, Nathan Dame as Sam Craig, Roger E. DeWitt as Joe Stoddard, Ann Dowd as Mrs. Gibbs, Emma Galvin as Rebecca Gibbs, Jennifer Grace as Emily Webb, Mark Hattan as Constable Warren, Noah Galvin as Wally Webb, David Manis as Mr. Webb, Scott Parkinson as Professor Willard, James McMenamin as George Gibbs, Jeff Still as Doc Gibbs, Jason Yachanin as Si Crowell, with Dana Jacks, Lynn Laurence, Kathleen Peirce, Keith Perry and Mark Shock. Our Town was produced by Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian, Tom Wirtshafter, Ted Snowdon, Eagle Productions, Dena Hammerstein/Pam Pariseau, The Weinstein Company, and Burnt Umber Productions.

Today’s Most Popular News: