Recipient of Actors' Equity St. Clair Bayfield Award Named | Playbill

News Recipient of Actors' Equity St. Clair Bayfield Award Named Amanda Quaid is the recipient of the annual St. Clair Bayfield Award presented by the Actors’ Equity Foundation.

Quaid is being honored for her performance in Shakespeare’s Pericles, Prince of Tyre, which was presented by the Public Theater’s Mobile Shakespeare Unit and toured mental health shelters, recreational centers and correctional facilities in Manhattan’s five boroughs before settling in for a run at the Public’s Lafayette Street home.

The award will be presented at Equity’s Eastern Regional Membership Meeting Jan. 9, 2015, at the Equity office. Established in 1973 in memory of Equity member St. Clair Bayfield, the award "honors the best performance in a supporting role by an Actor in a Shakespearean play in the New York City metropolitan area." The recipient receives a $1,000 check and an engraved crystal plaque.

Amanda Quaid got her Equity card playing Rosalind in As You Like It at the Folger Shakespeare Theatre in Washington, DC. She made her Broadway debut in 2008 in Equus. Quaid starred Off-Broadway in the U.S. premiere of Mike Bartlett’s Cock and was nominated for the 2013 Lucille Lortel Award for her performance in Luck of the Irish at Lincoln Center/LCT3.

Previous recipients of the St. Clair Bayfield Award include Carmen DeLavalade, Dana Ivey, Charles Kimbrough, Nathan Lane, Brian Murray, Bradley Whitford, and, in 2013, Tina Benko.

The judges panel for the Bayfield Award included Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out New York; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; and Harry Haun, Playbill.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!