Rees, Kantor, Saddler and More Join Tony Nominating Committee | Playbill

Related Articles
News Rees, Kantor, Saddler and More Join Tony Nominating Committee The Tony Awards Administration Committee announced Aug. 13 the Nominating Committee for the 2007-2008 theatre season on Broadway.
Roger Rees
Roger Rees Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Among the newcomers to the 27-member committee are actor Roger Rees, director-writer-producer Michael Kantor, composer Howard Marren, arts professor Laurence Maslon and choreographer Donald Saddler.

The Nominating Committee, according to a press statement, "attends all productions during the Broadway season, and meets on the date designated by the Administration Committee to determine, by vote, the Tony Award nominees for that season."

The 2007-2008 Tony Nominating Committee follows:

Joe Benincasa - President of The Actors Fund of America
Robert Callely - Theatre Executive
Betty Corwin - Retired Director of the Lincoln Center Library of Theatre on Film & Tape
**Jacqueline Z. Davis - Executive Director of The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center
John Dias - Producer, Dramaturg, Educator
**Michael D. Dinwiddie - Associate Professor, Gallatin School of Individualized Study at NYU
**Teresa Eyring - Executive Director of the Theatre Communications Group
Sue Frost - Producer
Joanna Gleason - Actor
Andrew Jackness - Scenic Designer
Betty Jacobs - Script Consultant/Theatre Historian
**Geoffrey Johnson - Retired Casting Director
Robert Kamlot - Retired General Manager
**Michael Kantor - Director, Producer, Writer
**Howard Marren - Composer
**Laurence Maslon - Associate Arts Professor, Graduate Acting Program - Tisch School
Brian Stokes Mitchell - Actor
Phyllis Newman - Actor
Lynn Nottage - Playwright
Gilbert Parker - Retired Senior-Vice President of the William Morris Agency
**Roger Rees - Actor, Director, Playwright, Lecturer, Administrator
Jonathan Reynolds - Playwright & Screenwriter
**Donald Saddler - Choreographer
Steven Suskin - Theatre Author
Tom Viola - President, Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS
Franklin Weissberg - Retired Judge of the New York State Court of Claims
**Kimberlee Wertz - Music Contractor

**New committee members beginning a three-year term. The Tony Awards are presented by the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!