Ren_e Fleming and James Galway Join James Levine and Boston Symphony to Open 2006-07 Season | Playbill

Classic Arts News Ren_e Fleming and James Galway Join James Levine and Boston Symphony to Open 2006-07 Season
The Boston Symphony and music director James Levine opened their 2006-07 season at Symphony Hall last night with a special gala concert featuring James Galway and Ren_e Fleming. Galway performed the Lyric Concerto for flute and orchestra composed for him by William Bolcom, Fleming sang Samuel Barber's Knoxville: Summer of 1915 and two arias from George Gershwin's Porgy and Bess, and Levine and the BSO played Dvoršk's "New World" Symphony (No. 9).
They repeat the program, mostly, tonight: the Gershwin will be replaced by John Harbison's Darkbloom: Overture for an imagined opera.

Next Thursday through Saturday (October 5-7), Daniel Barenboim travels to Symphony Hall to join Levine and the BSO for Arnold Schoenberg's Piano Concerto and Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4; the program also includes Schoenberg's Verkl‹rte Nacht. They travel to New York to perform the same program in Carnegie Hall's Isaac Stern Auditorium on Monday, October 9.

This program is part of Levine's two-year exploration of Beethoven and Schoenberg, which concludes this season. The project also includes Deborah Voigt in Schoenberg's Erwartung and Beethoven's Ah! perfido and Christian Tetzlaff playing both composers' violin concertos, as well as concert performances of Fidelio and Moses und Aron. The cast of the latter will include John Tomlinson and Philip Langridge in the title roles, while Fidelio will star Karita Mattila and Johan Botha.

Also on Levine's schedule for the BSOs season are the world premieres of Charles Wuorinen's Eighth Symphony ("Theologoumena") and Gunther Schuller's yet-to-be named new work, both part of the orchestra's 125th-anniversary commissioning program and performances of Berlioz's La Damnation de Faust with Yvonne Naef, Paul Groves and Jos_ van Dam.

Additional season highlights include the world premiere of a commissioned new work for cello and orchestra by Kaija Saariajo, conducted by Jukka-Pekka Saraste with Anssi Karttunen as soloist; the world premiere of Andr_ Previn's Double Concerto for Violin and Double Bass, conducted by the composer and Anne-Sophie Mutter and Roman Patkol‹ as soloists; and John Adams's El Niê±o, conducted by David Robertson with Dawn Upshaw performing the solo part she premiered in 2000.

Also among the visiting soloists on the schedule are Anne Sofie von Otter (in Bart‹k's Duke Bluebeard's Castle), Lynn Harrell, Emanuel Ax, Martha Argerich, Yefim Bronfman, Alfred Brendel and Joshua Bell. Conductors include conductor emeritus Bernard Haitink, Colin Davis, Christoph von D‹hnanyi, Charles Dutoit, Robert Spano and David Zinman.

For more information on the Boston Symphony's 2006-07 season, visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store

Explore Classic Arts:
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!