Ren_ Jacobs Tops First Cannes Classical Awards

Classic Arts News   Ren_ Jacobs Tops First Cannes Classical Awards
Conductor Ren_ Jacobs dominated the inaugural Cannes Classical Awards, winning awards for Recording of the Year and Best Opera for his rendition of The Marriage of Figaro, as well as Artist of the Year.

The awards were presented earlier this week at MIDEM, an annual recording industry conference in France.

Jacobs has already won Gramophone magazine's Record of the Year award for his Figaro, and the Harmonia Mundi CD has been nominated for two Grammy Awards.

A Boston Symphony recording of Rachmaninoff's Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 2, conducted by Seiji Ozawa and featuring pianist Krystian Zimerman, won Best Orchestral Work, and bass-baritone Thomas Quasthoff's recording of Bach Cantatas won in the vocal category. Both recordings are from the Deutsche Grammophon label.

Martha Argerich and Mikhail Pletnev's duo piano recording of Prokofiev's Cinderella Suite and Ravel's Ma Mre l'oye, also from DG, shared the Best Chamber Music award with Andršs Schiff and Miklos Per_nyi's recording of the complete works of Beethoven for Piano and Cello, on the independent ECM label.

ECM also appeared in the Best Contemporary Music category, won by Heinz Hollinger's Violin Concerto, which was conducted by the composer and featured violinist Thomas Zehetmair.

The winner in the Best Early Music/Baroque category was Rinaldo Allessandrini and Concerto Italiano's recording of Monteverdi's Vespro della Beata Vergine da concerto, on the NaÇve label. Best Reissue/Archival/Historical went to a Vienna State Opera recording of Berg's Wozzeck conducted by Karl B‹hm, which was released by NaÇve's Andante imprint.

The French label Alpha Productions was named Label of the Year. Viola da Gambist Jordi Savall won in the Best Solo Instrument category for Hume's Musicall Humors, on his own Alia Vox label. Awards for DVDs went to a recording of Rameau's opera Plat_e, conducted by Marc Minkowski, and the documentary Jacqueline du Pr_ in Portrait.

Other winners included Welsh pianist Llyr Williams, named Outstanding Young Artist, and conductor Claudio Abbado, who was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Recommended Reading: