Rosie Perez, Sandy Duncan, Marge Champion and More to Appear at Astaire Awards

News   Rosie Perez, Sandy Duncan, Marge Champion and More to Appear at Astaire Awards
Marge Champion, Sandy Duncan, Carol Lawrence, Rosie Perez, Roberta Flack, Charlotte d'Amboise and Sondra Lee will appear at the 28th annual Fred and Adele Astaire Awards June 7 in Manhattan.
Rosie Perez
Rosie Perez Photo by Matthew Blank

The gala, which benefits Career Transition for Dancers, will take place at 7:30 PM in the Gerald W. Lynch Theater at John Jay College. The Astaire Awards recognize outstanding achievement in dance on Broadway and in film each season.

Perez and Flack will present Emmy Award-winning "High School Musical" director and choreographer Kenny Ortega with the Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award.

As previously reported, Broadway veteran Lee Roy Reams will direct the evening that will feature performances by singer Robin Cofer, Evidence Dance Company and a tribute to both Ortega and Reams. Reams will perform with dancers who once performed with Fred Astaire.

The 2010 Astaire Award nominees follow:

Stage Categories Choreographers
Bill T. Jones (Fela!)
Twyla Tharp (Come Fly Away)
Sergio Trujillo (Memphis)
Marcia Milgrom Dodge (Ragtime)
Steven Hoggett (American Idiot)

Male Dancers
Charlie Neshyba-Hodges (Come Fly Away)
Keith Roberts (Come Fly Away)
John Selya (Come Fly Away)
Maksim Chmerkovskiy (Burn the Floor)
Memphis Male Ensemble (Brad Bass, Kevin Covert, Bryan Fenkart, Rhett George, John Jellison, John Eric Parker, Jermaine R. Rembert, Ephraim Sykes, Cary Tedder, Daniel J Watts, Charlie Williams, James Brown III, Tyron Jackson)

Female Dancers
Karine Plantadit (Come Fly Away)
Laura Mead (Come Fly Away)
Holley Farmer (Come Fly Away)
Savannah Wise (Ragtime)
Nicole Chantal de Weever (Fela!)
Fela! Female Ensemble (Hettie Vyrine Barnhill, Lauren de Veaux, Elasea Douglas, Rujeko Dumbutshena, Catherine Foster, Shaneeka Harrrell, Chanon Judson, Shakira Marshall, Afi McClendon, Jill Vallery, Iris Wilson, Aimee Graham Wodobode)

Film Categories

Choreographer (Fictional Film)
Marguerite Derricks "Fame"
Rob Marshal and John Deluca "Nine"
Lula Washington "Avatar"

Director (Documentary Dance Film)
Kenny Ortega "This is It"
Frederick Wiseman "La Danse, Le Ballet de l'Opera de Paris"
Ruedi Gerber "Breath Made Visible"
Adam Del Deo and James D. Stern "Every Little Step"

The award was established with the cooperation of Fred Astaire to honor him and his sister, Adele, who starred with her brother in ten Broadway musicals between 1917 and 1931.

Tickets and further information are available by visiting FredandAdeleAstaireAwards.

Today’s Most Popular News: