Ryan Murphy Reveals Title for "American Horror Story" Season Four | Playbill

Related Articles
News Ryan Murphy Reveals Title for "American Horror Story" Season Four Creator Ryan Murphy has revealed via twitter that the fourth season of his acclaimed FX series "American Horror Story" will be titled "Freak Show."

Murphy's tweet confirms news first revealed in a Nerdist Writers Panel podcast interview, in which writer Douglas Petrie stated that the upcoming series would take on a carnival theme.

View Murphy's tweet below:


  The next installment in the series will welcome back Academy Award winner Jessica Lange. It was previously confirmed that the fourth season would be set in the 1950s.

Petrie previously stated that work had already begun on season four of "AHS." "It's gonna be awesome," he said, without specifically naming the title. When asked by the panelists if "carnival" would be the theme of the upcoming season, he replied, "Very roughly that's the idea."

Further casting for season four beyond Lange has not been announced.

Last season Lange was joined by a host of acclaimed actors for "Coven," including Angela Bassett, Sarah Paulson, Kathy Bates, Denis O'Hare, Patti LuPone, Christine Ebersole, Evan Peters, Frances Conroy, Taissa Farmiga, Gabourey Sidibe, Emma Roberts, Alexandra Breckenridge and Jamie Brewer.

A Sneak Peek at Patti LuPone, Jessica Lange, Angela Bassett, Lily Rabe, Denis O'Hare and More in "American Horror Story: Coven"

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!