Sardelli and Taylor-Corbett Named 2008 Callaway Award Winners

News   Sardelli and Taylor-Corbett Named 2008 Callaway Award Winners
The Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers has announced that Giovanna Sardelli and Lynne Taylor-Corbett are the 2008 recipients of the Joseph A. Callaway Award for excellence in stage directing and choreography.

The awards, which include a cash stipend, will be presented Nov. 17 at 6 PM at Playwrights Horizons.

Director Giovanna Sardelli has directed the Off-Broadway productions of Animals Out of Paper and All This Intimacy at Second Stage, as well as Huck and Holden at The Cherry Lane.

Choreographer Lynne Taylor-Corbett, a Tony nominee for her direction and choreography of Swing!, is also credited with choreography for Titanic, Chess, the films "Footloose" and "Bewitched," as well as My Vaudeville Man, which is currently playing the York Theatre.

The Callaway Awards were created in 1989 to honor excellence in directing and choreography for a theatrical season. A committee of SSDC members, the union for professional stage directors and choreographers, considers all professional productions within the five boroughs of Manhattan – Broadway productions and showcases are exempt.

Previous winners of the Callaway Award include In the Heights' Thomas Kail and Andy Blankenbuehler, Frank Galati (The Grapes of Wrath, Ragtime), Harold Prince (Kiss of the Spider Woman), Susan Stroman (And the World Goes Round), Julie Taymor (The Green Bird), Graciela Daniele (Ragtime), Doug Hughes (Doubt) and Bill T. Jones (Spring Awakening).

Today’s Most Popular News: