Scoundrels, Hair, Piazza, Spamalot and Bee Recordings are Grammy Nominated

News   Scoundrels, Hair, Piazza, Spamalot and Bee Recordings are Grammy Nominated
The 48th Annual Grammy Award nominations were announced Dec. 8 by a host of artists, including Natasha Bedingfield, Big & Rich, Mariah Carey, Chad Kroeger, Patti LaBelle, John Legend, Carly Simon, Sway and CeCe Winans.

Of interest to theatre lovers is the Best Musical Show Album category. This year's nominees include the original cast recordings of Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, The Light in the Piazza, Monty Python's Spamalot and The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee as well as the all-star Actors' Fund of America benefit concert cast recording of Hair. The detailed list of nominees follows:

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels: Billy Straus & David Yazbek, producers; David Yazbek, composer/lyricist (Original Broadway Cast including John Lithgow & Norbert Leo Butz) [Ghostlight Records]

Hair Kurt Deutsch & Joel Moss, producers (Galt MacDermot, composer; James Rado & Gerome Ragni, lyricists) (The Actors' Fund of America Benefit Recording) [Ghostlight Records]

The Light in the Piazza Steven Epstein, producer; Adam Guettel, composer/lyricist (Original Broadway Cast including Victoria Clark & Kelli O'Hara) [Nonesuch]

Monty Python's Spamalot John Du Prez & Eric Idle, producers; John Du Prez, composer; Eric Idle, composer/lyricist (Original Broadway Cast including David Hyde Pierce, Tim Curry, Hank Azaria & Sara Ramirez) [Decca Broadway] •The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee Kurt Deutsch & Joel Moss, producers; William Finn, composer/lyricist (Original Broadway Cast) [Razor & Tie/Ghostlight Records] In the Traditional Pop category nominees include Tony Bennett ("The Art of Romance"), Michael Bublé ("It's Time"), Johnny Mathis ("Isn't it Romantic"), Carly Simon ("Moonlight Serenade") and Rod Stewart ("Thanks for the Memory. . . The Great American Songbook Volume IV").

The 48th Annual Grammy Awards will be presented Feb. 8, 2006, at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. CBS-TV will broadcast the event live from 8-11:30 PM ET.

For a complete list of this year's nominations, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: