Sense & Sensibility Musical to Star Robert Petkoff, Nick Verina, Ed Dixon, Stephanie Rothenberg and More | Playbill

Related Articles
News Sense & Sensibility Musical to Star Robert Petkoff, Nick Verina, Ed Dixon, Stephanie Rothenberg and More Nick Verina, Jeremiah James, Ruth Gottschall, Stephanie Rothenberg, Mary Michael Patterson, Robert Petkoff and Ed Dixon are among the players in the Denver world premiere of Sense & Sensibility The Musical, directed by Tony Award nominee Marcia Milgrom Dodge.

Stephanie Rothenberg
Stephanie Rothenberg

The cast was announced Feb. 1 by Denver Center Theatre Company, which will present the work April 5-May 26 at The Stage Theatre in the Denver Center for the Performing Arts.

Inspired by the Jane Austen novel, the musical has book and lyrics by Jeffrey Haddow and music by Neal Hampton.

According to DCTC, "In this grand musical adaptation of Jane Austen's enthralling novel, audiences are drawn into the tempestuous world of the Dashwood sisters. Starring in the pivotal sister roles will be Stephanie Rothenberg as Elinor and Mary Michael Patterson as Marianne. The sisters' romantic entanglements will be portrayed by three of Broadway’s most dashing leading men."

Verina (Young Ben in the recent Broadway revival of Follies) will play love-struck Edward; James, who starred as Billy Bigelow in the West End revival of Carousel and as Curly in the first national tour of Oklahoma!, will play the cad Willoughby; and Petkoff, Broadway's recent Lord Evelyn Oakleigh in Anything Goes and Perchik in Fiddler on the Roof, will be the upstanding Colonel Brandon.

Dodge, who will also choreograph, earned a 2010 Direction Tony nomination for the Broadway revival of Ragtime. Dixon (Broadway's Anything Goes, Sunday in the Park with George, Mary Poppins, How the Grinch Stole Christmas) will play Sir John; Gottschall (Mary Poppins, The Music Man) will play Mrs. Jennings; and Joanna Glushak (Sunday in the Park with George, Urinetown, Les Misérables) will play Mrs. Dashwood/Mrs. Ferrars.

The ensemble will include Andrew Kober, Preston Dyar, Josh Walden, Stacie Bono, Liz Pearce, Kate Fisher, Jessica Hershberg, Steven Strafford and Daniella Dalli.

The production team includes set designer Allen Moyer; costume designer Esosa; lighting designer James F. Ingalls; sound designer Craig Breitenbach; music supervisor David Loud; music director and conductor Paul Masse; and orchestrators Kim Scharnberg and Neal Hampton.

DCTC producing artistic director Kent Thompson selected Sense & Sensibility following enthusiastic response at the 2012 Colorado New Play Summit.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!