Shrek Company Will Record Original Cast Album in January

News   Shrek Company Will Record Original Cast Album in January
The cast of Shrek the Musical, which opened at the Broadway Theatre Dec. 14, will head into the recording studio in January 2009 to record the original Jeanine Tesori-David Lindsay-Abaire score, according to a spokesperson for the musical.
Shrek stars Brian d'Arcy James and Sutton Foster.
Shrek stars Brian d'Arcy James and Sutton Foster. Photo by Joan Marcus (in costume) and Aubrey Reuben

Decca Broadway will release the Shrek CD in March 2009.

Based on the story and characters from William Steig's "Shrek!" and the blockbuster DreamWorks Animation film of the same name, Shrek arrived on Broadway Nov. 8 following an out-of-town tryout at Seattle's 5th Avenue Theatre.

Directed by Jason Moore (Avenue Q and the Carnegie Hall Jerry Springer — The Opera), the cast features Brian d'Arcy James, the singing actor who was recently seen in the Off-Broadway musical Next to Normal, as the lovable green ogre with Passing Strange Tony nominee Daniel Breaker as Donkey, Avenue Q Tony nominee John Tartaglia as Pinocchio, Tony winner Sutton Foster (Thoroughly Modern Millie, Young Frankenstein) as Princess Fiona and Christopher Sieber (Monty Python's Spamalot) as Lord Farquaad.

The ensemble comprises Cameron Adams, Haven Burton, Jennifer Cody, Ben Crawford, Bobby Daye, Ryan Duncan, Sarah Jane Everman, Aymee Garcia, Leah Greenhaus, Justin Greer, Lisa Ho, Chris Hoch, Danette Holden, Marty Lawson, Jacob Ming-Trent, Carolyn Ockert-Haythe, Marissa O'Donnell, Denny Paschall, Rachel Resheff, Greg Reuter, Adam Riegler, Noah Rivera, Heather Jane Rolff, Jennifer Simard, Rachel Stern, Dennis Stowe and David F.M. Vaughn.


Sutton Foster in Shrek
photo by Joan Marcus

Shrek, according to a press statement, "is an entirely new musical based on the story and characters from William Steig's book 'Shrek!,' as well as the DreamWorks Animation film."

Pulitzer Prize-winner David Lindsay-Abaire (Rabbit Hole) penned the lyrics and libretto (based on the kid-lit character created by William Steig), and Tony Award nominee Jeanine Tesori (Millie, Caroline, or Change) wrote the music.

Song titles include "Big Bright Beautiful World," "Story of My Life," "The Goodbye Song," "Don't Le Me Go," "I Know It's Today," "What's Up, Duloc?," "Travel Song," "Donkey Pot Pie," "This Is How a Dream Comes True," "Who I'd Be," "Morning Person," "I Think I Got You Beat," "The Ballad of Farquad," "Make a Move," "When Words Fail," "Morning Person" (Reprise), "Build a Wall," "Freak Flag" and "Big Bright Beautiful World" (Reprise).

DreamWorks Theatricals is co-producing with Sam Mendes' Neal Street Productions Ltd.

Josh Prince has choreographed the production, which features musical direction by Tim Weil; set, costume and puppet design by Tim Hatley; lighting design by Hugh Vanstone; hair and wig design by David Brian-Brown; and sound design by Peter Hylenski.

Tickets are available by calling (212) 239-6200 or by visiting

Visit for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: