Sieber, Froio, Walton, Murin and Nesbitt Set for Hairspray at Cape Playhouse

News   Sieber, Froio, Walton, Murin and Nesbitt Set for Hairspray at Cape Playhouse
Christopher Sieber, whose last Broadway appearance in Shrek found him costumed as the vertically challenged Lord Farquaad, is set to transform into a 1950's hausfrau. The Tony Award-nominated actor will star as Edna Turnblad in the Cape Playhouse production of the Tony Award-winning musical Hairspray this August.
Christopher Sieber
Christopher Sieber Photo by Joan Marcus

In addition to Sieber, the cast will feature Liz Froio as Tracy, Jim Walton as Wilbur, Jim Newman as Corny Collins, Patti Murin as Amber Von Tussle, Travis Nesbitt as Link, Alex Ellis as Penny Pingleton, Sue Cella as Velma Von Tussle, Randy Aaron as Seaweed, Marsena Eunice Bowers as Little Inez, Inga Ballard as Motormouth Maybelle and Susan J. Jacks as Female Authority Figure.

The company will also include Christopher Messina, Daniel Bentley, Cedric Leiba Jr., Danielle Jordan, Tiffany Topol, Marjorie Failoni, Shelese Franklin, Steven Boyd Baker, Paige Williams and Curtis Schroeger.

Mark Martino will direct the doo-wop fueled musical that will feature choreography by Denis Jones. Hairspray is set to run July 19-Aug. 7. Jesse Vargas will musical direct.

Hairspray features a score by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman. Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan authored the book based on John Waters' film of the same title.

Hairspray opened on Broadway on Aug. 15, 2002. It won Tony Awards for Best Musical, Best Score (Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman), Best Book (Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan), Best Actor in a Musical (Harvey Fierstein), Best Actress in a Musical (Marissa Jaret Winokur), Best Featured Actor in a Musical (Dick Latessa), Best Direction of a Musical (Jack O'Brien) and Best Costume Design (William Ivey Long).

For tickets, phone (508) 385-3911 or visit CapePlayhouse. The Cape Playhouse is located in Dennis, MA.

Today’s Most Popular News: