Songwriters Hall of Fame to Honor Schwartz, MacDermot, Rado and Ragni

News   Songwriters Hall of Fame to Honor Schwartz, MacDermot, Rado and Ragni
Tony nominees Stephen Schwartz, Galt MacDermot, James Rado and the late Gerome Ragni will be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame on June 18.
Stephen Schwartz
Stephen Schwartz

In addition to Wicked composer Stephen Schwartz and Hair creators Galt MacDermot, James Rado and Gerome Ragni; the Songwriters Hall of Fame will also induct Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora; Felix Cavalieri and Eddie Brigati; Roger Cook and Roger Greenaway; and Crosby, Stills and Nash. The June 18 induction ceremony at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Manhattan marks the 40th anniversary of the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Featuring music by Galt MacDermot, with book and lyrics by Gerome Ragni and Jim Rado, Hair made its Tony-nominated Broadway debut in 1968, earning a Grammy Award for its original cast album. Songs from the popular musical have been recorded by Barbra Streisand, Liza Minnelli, Shirley Bassey, Diana Ross, Nina Simone, The Fifth Dimension, The Cowsills and Three Dog Night. A Broadway revival of Hair begins previews March 6.

Stephen Schwartz, a five-time Tony nominee for the scores of Pippin, Godspell, Working, Wicked and his lyrics for Rags, has earned Academy Awards for "Pocahontas" and "The Prince of Egypt." He also earned three Academy Award nominations for his work on "Enchanted." Schwartz also received Grammy Awards for the recordings of Wicked, Godspell and "Pocahontas."

Founded by Johnny Mercer, Abe Olman and Howie Richmond in 1969, the Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

Previous inductees include Alan and Marilyn Bergman, Cy Coleman, Alan Menken, Richard and Robert Sherman, Burt Bacharach, Carole King, Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson and James Taylor.

Today’s Most Popular News: