South Coast Rep's Emmes and Benson Named 2007-2008 Jones Medal Recipients

News   South Coast Rep's Emmes and Benson Named 2007-2008 Jones Medal Recipients
David Emmes and Martin Benson, co-artistic directors of Costa Mesa's South Coast Repertory, have been named the 2007-2008 recipients of the Margo Jones Medal.

Created in 1961 in honor of theatrical supporter Jones, the medal recognizes the work of professional American regional companies, specifically "those who demonstrated a significant impact, understanding and affirmation of the craft of playwriting, with a lifetime commitment to the encouragement of the living theater everywhere."

The award will be presented to Emmes and Benson by the Ohio State University Libraries and College of the Arts on May 1. The event officially kicks off South Coast Rep's Pacific Playwrights Festival.

"We are honored to receive the Margo Jones Medal and are thrilled to be included among the pioneers of the regional theater movement," Emmes stated.

Emmes and Benson co-founded South Coast Repertory in 1964. Nationally recognized as one of America's leading regional companies, South Coast Repertory was honored with a 1988 Tony Award for Distinguished Achievement by a Regional Theatre.

Among the works to receive their world premieres at South Coast Repertory are Pulitzer Prize winners Wit and Rabbit Hole as well as Sight Unseen, Collected Stories, Brooklyn Boy, Three Days of Rain, Prelude to a Kiss, Abundance, Search and Destroy, Intimate Apparel and The Beard of Avon. Previous Margo Jones Medal recipients include Lucille Lortel, Joseph Papp, Zelda Fichandler, Lloyd Richards, Jane Alexander, Al Hirschfeld, Ellen Stewart, Jon Jory and Andre Bishop.

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: