Speed-the-Plow Producers to File for Arbitration | Playbill

Related Articles
News Speed-the-Plow Producers to File for Arbitration Although a verdict was not reached during the Feb. 26 Actors' Equity Association grievance hearing concerning the abrupt departure of actor Jeremy Piven from the cast of the recent revival of David Mamet's Speed-the-Plow, producers of the play will seek arbitration.

Jeremy Piven
Jeremy Piven

A Feb. 27 statement released by the show's producers states, "The grievance went as expected yesterday. The grievance committee (made up of League and Equity representatives) did not rule for either side and we will be filing for arbitration as provided by our contract."

Piven left the show citing high levels of mercury in his system. A spokeswoman for Piven previously told Variety that although the actor wanted to continue in the production, his doctors advised him against doing so.

A joint statement from Actors' Equity and The Broadway League released the day of the grievance, Feb. 26, read, "A grievance hearing was held today in accordance with the Equity-League Production Contract regarding the matter of Jeremy Piven and Speed-the-Plow. Following the terms of the collective bargaining agreement, a panel of five League representatives and five Equity representatives met and heard the positions of the parties. The League and Equity representatives were unable to reach a unanimous decision. The Producers have the right, as a next step, to proceed to arbitration."

Tony Award winner Norbert Leo Butz succeeded Piven and played the part of Bobby Gould through Jan. 11. Academy Award nominee William H. Macy played the role opposite original stars Raul Esparza and Elisabeth Moss through the closing performance on Feb. 22.

Producers of Speed-the-Plow are Jeffrey Richards, Jerry Frankel, Steve Traxler, JK Productions, Ronald Frankel, Ostar Productions, Peggy Hill, Bat-Barry Productions, Ken Davenport, Scott Delman, Ergo Entertainment, Dede Harris, Alan D. Marks, Patty Ann McKinnon, Nicholas Quinn Rosenkranz, Adam Sansiveri, Jamie deRoy and Carl Moellenberg.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!