Stage Vies for Screen Honors at 57th Annual Emmy Awards Sept. 18

News   Stage Vies for Screen Honors at 57th Annual Emmy Awards Sept. 18
It's television's big night, but theatre may steal some statuettes when the 57th Annual Primetime Emmy Award winners are announced Sept. 18 on CBS.

Actress/talk-show host Ellen DeGeneres hosts the event to air 8-11 PM (ET). Presenters are set to include Hugh Jackman, Bobby Cannavale, Whoopi Goldberg, Neil Patrick Harris, Ray Liotta, Alan Alda, the Blue Man Group, Zach Braff, Portia De Rossi, the casts "Desperate Housewives," "Everybody Loves Raymond" and "Family Guy," Charles S. Dutton, Mariska Hargitay, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Jesse L. Martin, Debra Messing, Conan O'Brien, Chris O'Donnell, Ellen Pompeo, Kyra Sedgwick, Charlie Sheen, Jimmy Smits, Jon Stewart, Kiefer Sutherland, Quentin Tarantino and Sela Ward among others.

Theatre has already walked off with some of this year's honors at the 2005 Creative Arts Primetime Emmy ceremony, which was held Sept. 11. Among the winners were "The 58th Annual Tony Awards" broadcast (Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Special), Reefer Madness composers Dan Studney and Kevin Murphy (music and lyrics for their song "Mary Jane/Mary Lane" in the TV adaptation of the show) and the PBS airing of Stephen Sondheim's "Passion (Live From Lincoln Center)" (Special Class Program Emmy).

Stage stars also took home Emmys Sept. 11 in the categories of Guest Actor/Actress. Emmys were presented to Plummer (Agnes of God) for "Law & Order: Special Victims Unit," Ray Liotta (Match) for "ER" and recent Hurlyburly star Cannavale for "Will & Grace" — the latter beat out his fellow stage brethren Victor Garber (Art, Assassins), Jeff Goldblum (The Pillowman) and Alec Baldwin (Twentieth Century) for their turns on the same sitcom.

Of the remainder of the 57th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, stage vets Hugh Jackman, Glenn Close, Blythe Danner and a number of other stage actors are among the nominees.

Jackman earned an Emmy nomination for Individual Performance in a Variety or Music Program for his hosting duties at the 58th Annual Tony Awards (2004) — he'll vie against Whoopi Goldberg in her filmed Broadway turn of "Whoopi Back to Broadway - The 20th Anniversary." All the acting categories include nominees who have trod the boards. Hank Azaria — who recently starred in Monty Python's Spamalot — was nominated as Lead Actor in a Drama for his turn on the Showtime series "Huff."

Glenn Close (Sunset Boulevard) and Frances Conroy (The Ride Down Mt. Morgan) are up for Lead Actress in a Drama Series for their work on "The Shield" and "Six Feet Under," respectively.

Blythe Danner (Follies) is nominated in three categories. She competes for Lead Actress in a Miniseries or Movie for "Back When We Were Grownups" with recent Birdie Blue star S. Epatha Merkerson (for the Made for Television Movie Emmy nominee "Lackawanna Blues") and upcoming Rabbit Hole star Cynthia Nixon ("Warm Springs"). Then, as a Supporting Actress in a Drama Series, her turn in "Huff" was acknowledged along with "Judging Amy" star Tyne Daly (Gypsy) and "The West Wing" first lady Stockard Channing (Joe Egg, Six Degrees of Separation). She was also given a nod for as Guest Actress in a Comedy for "Will & Grace."

For Lead Actor in a Comedy, Tony Shalhoub (Conversations With My Father) for "Monk", Zach Braff (Twelfth Night) for "Scrubs" and Eric McCormack (The Music Man) for "Will & Grace" are nominated.

Ed Harris (Fool For Love, Precious Sons), Kenneth Branagh (Edmond) and William H. Macy (American Buffalo) compete in the Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie category. They starred in "Empire Falls," "Warm Springs" and "The Wool Cap."

Recent Glengarry Glen Ross stars Jeffrey Tambor and Alan Alda were also mentioned. Tambor is up for Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for "Arrested Development" opposite "Entourage" agent Jeremy Piven (Fat Pig) and "Everybody Loves Raymond" brother Brad Garrett (upcoming The Odd Couple). Alda's "The West Wing" performance will take on "Boston Legal"'s William Shatner (A Shot in the Dark) and "Huff" star Oliver Platt (Twelfth Night) for Supporting Actor in a Drama Series.

"Empire Falls" actors Paul Newman (Our Town) and Philip Seymour Hoffman (Long Day's Journey Into Night) team up against "Our Fathers" stars Christopher Plummer (Barrymore) and Brian Dennehy (Long Day's Journey Into Night) for Supporting Actor in a Miniseries or Movie.

For Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series, "Arrested Development" matriarch Jessica Walter (Rumor) competes with "Everybody Loves Raymond" matriarch Doris Roberts (Last of the Red Hot Lovers) and "Will & Grace" star Megan Mullally (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying).

For the complete list of Primetime Emmy nominations and other Academy news and information, go to the Academy's website, located at

Today’s Most Popular News: