Stark Sands Presented with Bayfield Award Jan. 9 | Playbill

Related Articles
News Stark Sands Presented with Bayfield Award Jan. 9 Arne Gundersen, president of Actors' Equity Foundation, announced Dec. 15 that this year's recipient of the St. Clair Bayfield Award is actor Stark Sands.
Stark Sands
Stark Sands Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Established in 1973 in honor of Equity member Bayfield, the award honors "the best performance by an actor in a Shakespearean play in the New York metropolitan area." Sands will receive a crystal plaque and a $1,000 check at Equity's Eastern Regional Membership Meeting Jan. 9 at the Equity offices in Manhattan. Sands is being honored with the award for his performance in the Classic Stage Company's recent production of Shakespeare's The Tempest.

Stark Sands made his Broadway debut in Journey's End, earning a Tony nomination for his performance. His screen credits include "Flags of our Fathers," "Die, Mommie, Die," "Shall We Dance" and "Six Feet Under."

This year's judges included Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out NY; Harry Haun; Playbill; Michael Kuchwara, Associated Press; and David Rosenberg, Back Stage.

Last year's winner of the Bayfield Award was Jay O. Sanders; previous honorees include Barnard Hughes, Carmen DeLavalade, Nathan Lane, Dana Ivey and Brian Murray.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!