Stephanie J. Block, Matt Doyle and More Sing Will Van Dyke Songs on "Chasing the Day" CD

News   Stephanie J. Block, Matt Doyle and More Sing Will Van Dyke Songs on "Chasing the Day" CD
Broadway stars will sing on composer and lyricist Will Van Dyke's debut album, "Chasing the Day," getting an Oct. 19 release on the Sh-K-Boom label. Stephanie J. Block, Matt Doyle and Katie Rose Clarke are among the performers.

A contemporary pop/rock composer "with complex modern classical flavors," according to Sh-K-Boom notes, Will Van Dyke is a busy theatre musician and musical theatre composer. Van Dyke currently plays keyboards at The Addams Family on Broadway. Previously, he played the first national tour of Wicked, and was the associate music director of the tour of the most recent revival of Grease.

Josh Halloway (lyric collaborator) and Van Dyke collaborated on Pages: A New Musical, as well as The Girls I've LIKE Liked (ArsNova), Where The Blue Grass Grows (Teatro LaTea) and The Grass Is Always Greener: A Song Cycle. Van Dyke's upcoming work includes Leonardo's Ring. For more information visit

Produced by Dominick Amendum and Van Dyke, the new CD can be pre-ordered by visiting

In addition to Block (9 to 5), Doyle (Spring Awakening, Bye Bye Birdie) and Clarke (The Light in the Piazza), the disc also features Alex Brightman (Wicked), Morgan James (Addams Family), Jay Armstrong Johnson (Hair), Adam Kantor (Rent), Josh Lamon (Hair), Carrie Manolakos (Mamma Mia!, Wicked) and John Eric Parker (Memphis, All Shook Up).

Also expect to hear the voices of Morgan Karr, Katie Gassert, Preston Sadleir and Sam Tedaldi. Singer/songwriters Pauline Pisano and Danica Dora lend their voices to the album. Andrew Lippa, Van Dyke's mentor, is also featured on piano for one track. In the liner notes, collaborator Halloway describes the album as "songs that were written on the road. Aboard planes. Across time zones. Between sets. In hotel lobbies. At 24 hour coffee shops. Miles apart. When the thought of home is your only companion. 'Chasing the Day' is about the places life takes us and the people who bring us back."

The complete track listing follows:

1. Marie and Me (with Alex Brightman)
2. Come Home (with Carrie Manolakos)
3. Gateway (with Adam Kantor)
4. The Lighter Side (with Danica Dora)
5. If You Only Knew (with Morgan James and Andrew Lippa)
6. Settle (with Matt Doyle)
7. Why'd You Hold My Hand (with Pauline Pisano)
8. Fly Away Gone (with Stephanie J. Block)
9. The Very Worst Year (with Jay Armstrong Johnson)
10. Life Times (with John Eric Parker)
11. Truth, Beauty, and Love (with Katie Rose Clarke)

BONUS TRACK: The Legend Of Wonderboy (with Morgan Karr, Katie Gassert, Josh Lamon, Preston Sadleir, and Sam Tedaldi)

Today’s Most Popular News: