Strike the Tent! Pippin Revival Packs Up the Broadway Circus

News   Strike the Tent! Pippin Revival Packs Up the Broadway Circus
The Tony Award-winning Best Revival of Pippin — which director Diane Paulus took to new heights, re-imagining the piece for a circus troupe and a female ringleader — plays its final performance Jan. 4.

Josh Kaufman in <i>Pippin</i>
Josh Kaufman in Pippin Photo by Joan Marcus

By the time of closing, Pippin will have played 709 regular performances and 37 previews at the Music Box Theatre.

Read critics' reviews for the Broadway revival here.

The Pippin national tour is now playing in cities across the U.S., and future productions are planned for London, Australia and Amsterdam. For more information, visit

With a book by Roger O. Hirson and music and lyrics by Stephen Schwartz, Pippin is directed by Tony Award winner Paulus. The production features choreography in the style of Bob Fosse by Tony Award nominee Chet Walker and circus creations by Gypsy Snider of the Montreal-based circus company Les 7 doigts de la main (also known as 7 Fingers).

This production had its debut at the American Repertory Theater (A.R.T.) in Cambridge, MA, Dec. 5, 2012-Jan. 20, 2013. It began performances on Broadway March 23, 2013, prior to an official opening April 25, 2013. The production recouped its full $8.5 million capitalization in December 2013. Pippin earned four 2013 Tony Awards, including Best Revival of a Musical, Best Direction of a Musical (Paulus), Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical (Miller) and Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical (Martin).

The current cast features Josh Kaufman ("The Voice") as Pippin, Carly Hughes as Leading Player, Tony Award nominee John Dossett as Charles, Tony Award nominee Charlotte d'Amboise as Fastrada, Rachel Bay Jones as Catherine and Priscilla Lopez as Berthe.

Other members of the company include Mackenzie Bell, Colin Cunliffe, Andrew Fitch, Lauren Joy Herley, Naël Jammal, Nicolas Jelmoni, Kai Johnson-Peady, Sam Lips, Richard Maguire, Brad Musgrove, Charlotte O'Sullivan, Adam Roberts, Mike Schwitter, Masha Terentieva, Eli Tokash, Kristen Beth Williams, Syndee Winters, Ashton Woerz and Lara Seibert Young.

Pippin features music supervision and arrangements by Nadia DiGiallonardo, orchestrations by Tony Award winner Larry Hochman, scenic design by Tony Award winner Scott Pask, costume design by Tony Award nominee Dominique Lemieux, lighting design by Tony Award winner Kenneth Posner and sound design by Tony Award nominees Jonathan Deans and Garth Helm.

Barry and Fran Weissler and Howard and Janet Kagan present the American Repertory Theater (A.R.T.) production of Pippin with Lisa Matlin, Kyodo Tokyo, A&A Gordon/Brunish Trinchero, Tom Smedes/Peter Stern, Broadway Across America, Independent Presenters Network, Norton Herrick, Allen Spivak,Rebecca Gold, Joshua Goodman, Steve McManus, David Robbins/Bryan S. Weingarten, Philip Hagemann/Murray Rosenthal, Jim Kierstead/Carlos Arana/Myla Lerner, Hugh Hayes/Jamie Cesa/Jonathan Reinis, Sharon A. Carr/Patricia R. Klausner, Ben Feldman, Square 1 Theatrics, Wendy Federman/Carl Moellenberg, Bruce Robert Harris/Jack W. Batman, Infinity Theatre Company/Michael Rubenstein, Michael A. Alden/Dale Badway/Ken Mahoney.

Pippin, according to press notes, "tells the story of a young prince on a death-defying journey to find meaning in his existence. Will he choose a happy but simple life? Or will he risk everything for a singular flash of glory?"


Today’s Most Popular News: