Subways Are for Singing: Korie & Frankel's Happiness Opens Off-Broadway March 30 | Playbill

News Subways Are for Singing: Korie & Frankel's Happiness Opens Off-Broadway March 30
Happiness, the new musical by Grey Gardens Tony nominees Michael Korie and Scott Frankel, officially opens Off-Broadway at the Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater March 30.
Happiness stars Robb Sapp and Joanna Gleason
Happiness stars Robb Sapp and Joanna Gleason Photo by Paul Kolnik

Tony winner Susan Stroman directs and choreographs the production, which has a book by John Weidman (Road Show, Assassins) and a score by writers Korie and Frankel. Both Stroman and Weidman collaborated on the Tony-winning Lincoln Center Theater musical Contact.

Happiness began previews Off-Broadway Feb. 27 and will run through June 7.

According to Lincoln Center Theater, "Happiness unfolds the stories of a dozen or so New Yorkers stuck in the morning rush of a stalled subway car and required by the spectral trainman to recall and re-enact the happiest moment in their lives before they can continue their travels...and travails. Happiness celebrates those fleeting moments in everyday lives — typically unanticipated, largely overlooked, always ephemeral — that upon reflection become people's fondest memories."

The Happiness cast comprises Fred Applegate (Young Frankenstein, The Producers), Sebastian Arcelus (Jersey Boys, Wicked), Miguel Cervantes (Spelling Bee, The Nightingale) Hunter Foster (Dust, Urinetown), Joanna Gleason (Into the Woods, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels), Ken Page (It Ain't Nothin' But the Blues), Robert Petkoff (Spamalot), Jenny Powers (Dangerous Beauty, Little Women), Phyllis Somerville (Over Here, 'Night Mother), Pearl Sun (How the Grinch Stole Christmas), Ana Maria Andricain, Holly Ann Butler, Patrick Cummings, Janet Dickinson (Forbidden Broadway), Alan H. Green (Play On!), Samantha Maza, James Moye (Tale of Two Cities), Alessa Neeck (White Christmas), Eric Santagata (The Apple Tree), Rob Sapp (Zanna, Don't!), Alexander Scheitinger (Damn Yankees), Lina Silver (A Midsummer Night's Dream), Idara Victor (Show Boat) and Matt Wall (The Drowsy Chaperone).

Songs listed in the Playbill for the production include "Just Not Right Now," "Blips," "Flibberty Jibbers and Wobbly Knees," "Best Seats in the Ballpark," "Gstaad," "The Boy Inside Your Eyes," "Perfect Moments," "Step Up the Ladder," "Family Flashcards," "The Tooth Fairy Song," "Road to Nirvana," "Gstaad (Reprise)" and "Happiness." The design team includes Thomas Lynch (set design), William Ivey Long (costume design), Donald Holder (lighting design) and Scott Lehrer (sound design).

For tickets and more information visit

The cast of <I>Happiness</I>
The cast of Happiness

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!