Tevin Campbell Is Hairspray's New Seaweed

News   Tevin Campbell Is Hairspray's New Seaweed
Tevin Campbell joins the cast of Broadway's Hairspray Dec. 13, taking over the role of Seaweed J. Stubbs from departing Chester Gregory.

Born in Texas, Campbell started singing in church choir at age four and gained fame as an R&B singer at age 13 with his first album, "T.E.V.I.N." He collaborated with Prince, Quincy Jones, James Ingram, Ray Charles and Chaka Khan before recording his three albums. The cast of Hairspray at the Neil Simon Theatre includes Shannon Durig as Tracy, Jonothan Dokuchitz as Corny, Becky Gulsvig as Amber, Michael Cunio as Brad, Lindsay Nicole Chambers as Tammy, Serge Kushnier as Fender, Leslie Goddard as Brenda, Bryan West as Sketch, Donna Vivino as Shelley, Todd Michael Smith as IQ, Anne Warren as Lou Ann, Andrew Rannells as Link Larkin, Julie Halston as Prudy Pingleton/Gym Teacher/Matron, John Pinette as Edna Turnblad, Tracy Miller as Penny, Leah Hocking as Velma Von Tussle, Kevin Meaney as Harriman F. Spritzer/Principal/Mr. Pinky/Guard, Stephen DeRosa as Wilbur Turnblad, Tyrick Wiltez Jones as Duane, Arbender J. Robinson as Gilbert, Terita R. Redd as Lorraine, Rashad Naylor as Thad, Carla J. Hargrove, Judine Somerville, Candice Marie Woods as The Dynamites, Chloe Smith as Little Inez, Darlene Love as Motormouth Mabel.

Hairspray plays Tuesday at 7 PM, Wednesday through Saturday at 8 PM, Wednesday and Saturday at 2 PM, and Sunday at 3 PM, at Broadway's Neil Simon Theatre, 250 West 52nd Street. For ticket information, phone Ticketmaster at (212) 307-4100, or for group sales, phone (212) 302-7000 or (800) 677-1164.

For more information about Hairspray, visit www.hairsprayonbroadway.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: