The Book of Mormon Has $39 Million Advance; New Premium Seating Planned

News   The Book of Mormon Has $39 Million Advance; New Premium Seating Planned
The Book of Mormon, which ran away with nine Tony Awards in June, has already racked up a $39 million box-office advance, according to the New York Post.

"South Park" writers Trey Stone and Matt Parker and Avenue Q Tony winner Robert Lopez created the Tony-winning musical that opened to raves at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre March 24. It took home Tony Awards for Best Musical, Best Score and Best Book.

Tickets to the Book of Mormon, which have been a hot commodity since the production opened, range $69-$155, with premium tickets at $302 for weeknights and $352 for Friday-Sunday performances. Premium seats purchased within hours of a performance can go as high as $477.

The Post also reports that in 2012 Book of Mormon producers will begin implementing a new tier of premium seats, which will sell for $250. Representatives for the production had no comment.

The Book of Mormon also earned Tony Awards for Best Direction (Parker and co-director/choreographer Casey Nicholaw), Best Performance by a Featured Actress (Nikki M. James), Best Orchestrations (Larry Hochman and Stephen Oremus), Best Scenic Design (Scott Pask), Best Sound Design (Brian Ronan) and Best Lighting Design (Brian MacDevitt).

Josh Gad ("The Daily Show with Jon Stewart") and Andrew Rannells (Jersey Boys) star as an unlikely pair of Mormon missionaries who venture from Salt Lake City to AIDS-ravaged Uganda in the hopes of converting villagers with the story of Joseph Smith and the founding of the Mormon Church. The problem is: Only one of them has actually read the book. The cast also features Rory O'Malley (The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee) as Elder McKinley, Tony winner James (All Shook Up) as Nabalungi and Michael Potts (Grey Gardens) as Mafala Hatimbi, as well as Lewis Cleale, Scott Barnhardt, Justin Bohon, Darlesia Cearcy, Kevin Duda, Asmeret Ghebremichael, Brian Tyree Henry, Clark Johnsen, John Eric Parker, Jason Michael Snow, Benjamin Schrader, Michael James Scott, Brian Sears, Lawrence Stallings, Rema Webb, Maia Nkenge Wilson, Tommar Wilson, Graham Bowen, Ta’Rea Campbell, Jared Gertner, Tyson Jennette and Nick Spangler.

Parker and Stone have earned four Emmy Awards and a Peabody Award for "South Park," which is now in its 15th season. Their films include "South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut" (Academy Award nomination for Best Song) and "Team America: World Police."

Lopez co-created Avenue Q, earning 2004 Tony Awards for Best Musical, Best Score and a Grammy Award nomination for Best Cast Album. He has also penned Finding Nemo: The Musical with his wife Kristen Anderson-Lopez.

For tickets phone (212) 239-6200 or visit Telecharge. The Eugene O'Neill Theatre is located at 230 West 49th Street.

Today’s Most Popular News: