The Color Purple Begins Delayed Houston Run Sept. 23

News   The Color Purple Begins Delayed Houston Run Sept. 23
The Houston engagement of The Color Purple will begin performances at Theatre Under the Stars Sept. 23.

The national tour of the Tony-nominated musical had been scheduled to commence performances Sept. 16 at Houston's Hobby Center. Due to the recovery following Hurricane Ike, the city of Houston instated a curfew that caused TUTS to cancel Sept. 16-22 performances.

The Color Purple will now begin performances at 8 PM Sept 23 and will continue its previously scheduled Houston run through Sept. 28.

Press representatives state that ticket holders for canceled performances may refund or exchange their tickets for another show in the 2008-2009 season. Ticket holders are encouraged to call the TUTS box office at (713) 558-8887 or visit TUTS for further information and rescheduling.

The Color Purple tour stars veterans of the Broadway production, including Jeannette Bayardelle as Celie, Tony nominee Felicia P. Fields as Sofia, Angela Robinson as Shug Avery and Carol Dennis as the Church Soloist. Also in the company are "American Idol" finalist LaToya London as Nettie, Rufus Bonds, Jr. as Mister, Stu James as Harpo and Stephanie St. James as Squeak.

Based on the Alice Walker novel and the Steven Spielberg film, The Color Purple features a score by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis and Stephen Bray and a book by Pulitzer Prize winner Marsha Norman ('night, Mother). Gary Griffin directed both the Broadway and touring productions. The Broadway production of The Color Purple began previews on Nov. 1, 2005, at the Broadway Theatre and officially opened Dec. 1, 2005. Nominated for 11 Tony Awards, The Color Purple concluded its Broadway run Feb. 24, 2008.

The design team for both the Broadway show and the tour is John Lee Beatty (sets), Paul Tazewell (costumes), Brian MacDevitt (lighting) and Jon Weston (sound).

The tour is produced by Oprah Winfrey, Scott Sanders, Roy Furman, Quincy Jones, Creative Battery, Anna Fantaci and Cheryl Lachowicz, Independent Presenters Network, Lowy Family Group, Stephanie McClelland, Gary Winnick, Jan Kallish, Nederlander Presentations, Inc., Bob and Harvey Weinstein, Andrew Asnes and Adam Zotovich and Todd Johnson, in special association with AEG Live.

For more information on the show, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: