The Drowsy Chaperone Stumbles Along to Brooklyn's Gallery Players Starting Jan. 29

News   The Drowsy Chaperone Stumbles Along to Brooklyn's Gallery Players Starting Jan. 29
The Gallery Players production of the Tony Award-winning musical The Drowsy Chaperone, featuring Craig Treubert, Whitney Branan, Edward Juvier and Lorinne Lampert, begins performances Jan. 29 in Brooklyn.

Whitney Branan
Whitney Branan

Hans Friedrichs stages the theatrical valentine to the daffy musicals of the Jazz Age, which runs through Feb. 20. Robert Earle Jones produces the engagement.

Treubert is cast as Man in Chair, with Branan as Janet Van De Graaff, Juvier (Les Miserables on Broadway) as Adolpho and Lampert (Top of the Heap) as the Chaperone. The cast also features Jennifer DiDonato, Tauren Hagans, Robert Anthony Jones, Aaron J. Libby, Jake Mendes, Trey Mitchell, Jan-Peter Pedross, Colin Pritchard, Megan Rosenblatt, Chloe Sabin, Dawn Trautman, Tyler Wallach and Eric Weaver.

The Drowsy Chaperone has choreography by Christine O’Grady and musical direction by Kevin Lawson. The creative team includes Jared Rutherford (scenic design), Ryan J. Moller (costume design), Brad Peterson (lighting design), Kim Fuhr-Carbone (sound design) and Jon Jordan (wig design).

The Drowsy Chaperone spins to life as the Man in Chair, an impassioned theatre enthusiast, plays one of his favorite records for the audience. The musical is a madcap satirical romp through a jazz-age 1920s musical where the characters and real life merge with comic results. The musical earned Tony Awards for Best Book and Best Score.

For tickets call (718) 595-0547 or visit The Gallery Players is located in Park Slope, Brooklyn, at 199 14th Street. Those in Manhattan can reach the theatre by taking the F train to 4th Avenue or the R train to 9th Street.


The Gallery Players, a Brooklyn theatrical institution, boasts numerous Broadway folk among its alumni, including Harvey Fierstein (A Catered Affair, Hairspray, Torch Song Trilogy), Jennifer Barnhart (Avenue Q), Manoel Felciano (Sweeney Todd), Diedre Goodwin (A Chorus Line, Chicago), Seth Rudetsky (Seth’s Broadway Chatterbox), Garrett Long (The Spitfire Grill) and John Rando (director of Broadway's Urinetown and The Wedding Singer).

Today’s Most Popular News: