These Seven Sicknesses, a Five-Hour Sophocles Marathon, Will Play New York's Flea Theater

News   These Seven Sicknesses, a Five-Hour Sophocles Marathon, Will Play New York's Flea Theater
The Flea Theater will present the New York premiere of These Seven Sicknesses, a five-hour marathon of all seven Sophocles plays re-envisioned by playwright Sean Graney, beginning Jan. 19, 2012, prior to an official opening set for Jan. 29, 2012.

Directed by Ed Sylvanus Iskandar, the limited engagement will continue through Feb. 12, 2012.

The plays will feature The Flea's resident acting ensemble, The Bats. Members of The Bats include Tiffany Abercrombie, Matt Barbot, Yoni Ben-Yehuda, Satomi Blair, Dave Brown, Allison Buck, Charlotte Bydwell, Holly Chou, Jenelle Chu, Ugo Chukwu, Alexander Cook, Tommy Crawford, Eloise Eonnet, Bobby Foley, Katherine Folk-Sullivan, Glenna Grant, Cleo Gray, Alex Grubbs, Grant Harrison, Victoria Haynes, Cameran Hebb, Alex Herrald, Miles Jacoby, Betsy Lippitt, Sean McIntyre, Kate Michaud, Seth Moore, Erik Olson, Victor Joel Ortiz, Jeff Ronan, Marie Claire Roussel, Olivia Stoker, Stephen Stout, Liz Tancredi, Will Turner, Tony Vo, Nate Washburn and Akyiaa Wilson.

In These Seven Sicknesses, according to press notes, "Sophocles' seven surviving plays—Oedipus, In Trachis, Philoktetes, In Colonus, Ajax, Elektra and Antigone—combine to create a stunning portrait of the human condition, where the intermingling of chance and fate yields disquieting results. A witty and relevant interpretation of the classics, These Seven Sicknesses is an epic examination of the past and a window on the present."

The Flea is partnering with Macao Trading Co. to provide dinner each night for the theatrical event. The main entrée will be vegan and gluten-free, and will be included in the cost of the ticket.

Other members of the creative team include set designer Julia Noulin-Merat, lighting designer Carl Wiemann, costume designer Loren Shaw, sound designer Patrick Metzger, fight director Michael Wieser, music director David Dabbon, dramaturg Greg VanHorn, and stage managers Edward Herman and Kara Kaufman. These Seven Sicknesses premiered to critical acclaim this September in Chicago.

The Flea Theater, under artistic director Jim Simpson and producing director Carol Ostrow, is the winner of a special Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Achievement, as well as Obie and Otto Awards. The Flea has presented nearly 100 plays and numerous dance and live music performances since its inception in 1996.

The performance schedule for These Seven Sicknesses is Wednesday-Saturday at 6:30 PM and Sunday at 4:30 PM.

The Flea is located at 41 White Street between Church and Broadway. For more information and tickets, call (212) 352-3101 or visit

Today’s Most Popular News: