Tina Fey Receives 13th Annual Mark Twain Prize Nov. 9; Jane Krakowski, Jennifer Hudson Perform

News   Tina Fey Receives 13th Annual Mark Twain Prize Nov. 9; Jane Krakowski, Jennifer Hudson Perform
The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts awards the 13th annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor to Emmy Award winner Tina Fey Nov. 9.

Tina Fey
Tina Fey

Fey will be honored in the Kennedy Center's Concert Hall at 8 PM. Among those scheduled to entertain are Fred Armisen, Steve Carell, Jimmy Fallon, Jon Hamm, Jennifer Hudson, Jane Krakowski, Steve Martin, Seth Meyers, Lorne Michaels, Tracy Morgan, Amy Poehler and Betty White. The evening will be taped for broadcast on PBS stations around the country Nov. 14.

Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein stated, "Like Mark Twain, Tina Fey offers her brilliance unconditionally. Throughout her career, she's earned legions of fans for her quick, unapologetic wit and social commentary. The Kennedy Center is pleased to celebrate her broad and successful contributions to the world of comedy."

Fey added, "I am truly thrilled to receive this honor. I assume Betty White was disqualified for steroid use."

The Mark Twain Prize, according to press notes, recognizes "people who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to the distinguished 19th-century novelist and essayist best known as Mark Twain. As a social commentator, satirist and creator of characters, Samuel Clemens was a fearless observer of society, who startled many while delighting and informing many more with his uncompromising perspective of social injustice and personal folly. He revealed the great truth of humor when he said 'against the assault of laughter nothing can stand.'"

A "Saturday Night Live" alum, Fey is currently executive producer, creator and star of NBC's three-time, Emmy Award-winning comedy series "30 Rock."

Fey follows previous recipients George Carlin, Billy Crystal, Steve Martin, Richard Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Lily Tomlin, Lorne Michaels and Neil Simon.

For more information visit kennedy-center.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: