Tommy Tune Will Be Honored With Special Helen Hayes Tribute Award | Playbill

News Tommy Tune Will Be Honored With Special Helen Hayes Tribute Award
The Helen Hayes Tribute — one of three special awards given in the annual Helen Hayes Awards in Washington, DC — will be presented to Tony Award-winning director, choreographer and actor Tommy Tune on April 25.

Tommy Tune
Tommy Tune Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The native Texan began his career as a dancer in Broadway shows before he won a featured actor Tony Award for Seesaw. He would ascend to be a major Broadway star, choreographer and director (The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, My One and Only, A Day in Hollywood/A Night in the Ukraine, Grand Hotel, The Will Rogers Follies and Nine).

Previous Helen Hayes Tribute recipients include Edward Albee, Derek Jacobi, James Earl Jones, Mary Martin, Angela Lansbury, Jason Robards, Chita Rivera, August Wilson, Jerry Herman, Terrence McNally, Frances Sternhagen, and the artistic directors of Washington area theatres.

Additional 2011 special award recipients in the Helen Hayes Awards are:

The Washington Post Award for Innovative Leadership in the Theatre Community
Ford's Theatre "History on Stage" and "History on Foot" programs

The John Aniello Award for Outstanding Emerging Theatre Company
Factory 449: A Theatre Collective
No Rules Theatre Company

The 27th Helen Hayes Awards will be presented at the historic Warner Theatre on April 25. For the Washington, DC, 2010 year in theatre, 156 theatre artists, ensembles and productions were nominated in 26 categories.

Read's earlier story about the Helen Hayes nominees.  


Helen Hayes (1900-93) was a Washington, DC, native who became a major American theatre actress in the 20th century.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!