Tony Administration Committee Assembles May 1

Tony Awards   Tony Administration Committee Assembles May 1
Tony Awards Administration Committee assembles for the fifth and final time during the 2008-2009 theatre May 1.

The committee is scheduled to meet at 10 AM to discuss the shows that have opened on Broadway since the group last assembled on April 2.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee, which meets several times each season to discuss the eligibility of Broadway productions, comprises 24 members: ten designated by the Wing, ten by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers.

The members of the 2008-2009 Administration Committee include Emanuel Azenberg, Roger Berlind, Ted Chapin, John Connolly, Bill Craver, Dasha Epstein, Mallory Factor, James Freydberg, Cecilia Friederichs, Philip Getter, Sondra Gilman, Doug Leeds, Paul Libin, Margo Lion, Jo Sullivan Loesser, Kevin McCollum, James L. Nederlander, James M. Nederlander, Laura Penn, Michael Price, Charlotte St. Martin, Howard Sherman and John Weidman. Alternates are Billie Allen, Melvin Bernhardt, Michael David, Brian Drutman, Alan Eisenberg, Barry Grove, Fredda Harris, Michael McBride, Judith O. Rubin, Thomas Schumacher, Ralph Sevush, Philip Smith, Leonard Soloway and David Stone.

The cut-off date for 2009 eligibility is April 30.

Tony Award winners Cynthia Nixon (Rabbit Hole) and Lin-Manuel Miranda (In the Heights) will announce the nominations for the 2009 Tony Awards May 5 beginning at 8:30 AM at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. The 63rd Annual Tony Awards will be held at Radio City Music Hall June 7. CBS-TV will broadcast the event live.

For more information visit


Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss/White Cherry Entertainment will be executive producers of the 2009 Tony Awards. Weiss will also serve as director of the awards ceremony.

The 2009 Tonys are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. Nina Lannan is chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is executive director of the Broadway League. Theodore S. Chapin is chairman and Howard Sherman is executive director of the American Theatre Wing. Alan Wasser Associates will act as the general manager of the 2009 Tony Awards.

Today’s Most Popular News: