Tony Administration Committee Convenes for Final Meeting of the Season April 27 | Playbill

Related Articles
News Tony Administration Committee Convenes for Final Meeting of the Season April 27 The Tony Awards Administration Committee assembles for the fourth and final time during the 2011-12 season April 27.

The committee is expected to discuss the eligibility of such shows as Death of a Salesman; Once; Jesus Christ Superstar; Newsies the Musical; Gore Vidal's The Best Man; End of the Rainbow; Evita; Magic/Bird; Peter and the Starcatcher; One Man, Two Guvnors; Clybourne Park; A Streetcar Named Desire; Ghost The Musical; The Lyons; Nice Work If You Can Get It; The Columnist; and Don't Dress for Dinner, among others.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee is composed of 24 members: 10 are designated by the Wing, 10 by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists, and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers.

This committee "determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories, reviews the rules governing the awards, and appoints the Nominating Committee. It may, at its discretion, bestow non-competitive Tony Awards including Special Tony Awards, the Regional Theatre Tony Award, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre."

This year's members include Emanuel Azenberg, Roger Berlind, Ted Chapin, Bill Craver, Dasha Epstein, Cecilia Friederichs, Heather Hitchens, Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, Paul Libin, Margo Lion, Jo Sullivan Loesser, William Ivey Long, Mary McColl, Kevin McCollum, James L. Nederlander, James M. Nederlander, Enid Nemy, Laura Penn, Judith O. Rubin, Charlotte St. Martin, Thomas Schumacher, Ralph Sevush, Philip Smith and David Stone.

Alternates are Kara Barnett, Ken Billington, Michael David, Brian Drutman, Alan Eisenberg, Mallory Factor, Gary Garrison, Philip Getter, John Gore, Barry Grove, Fredda Harris, Mike Isaacson, Lonny Price and Nick Scandalios. The American Theatre Wing's 66th Annual Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards will air on CBS on Sunday, June 10 from 8-11 PM (ET/PT). Nominees will be announced May 1.

The Tony Awards are presented by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League.

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!