Tony Winner Hugh Jackman Will Be Honored With Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film | Playbill

Awards Tony Winner Hugh Jackman Will Be Honored With Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film
Jackman's career will be celebrated November 19 in Santa Barbara.
Hugh Jackman
Hugh Jackman Shutterstock

Tony winner and Oscar nominee Hugh Jackman will be honored with the 13th annual Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film, which will be presented November 19 at The Ritz Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara.

Jackman, who won his Tony for his performance in The Boy from Oz, was nominated for an Academy Award for the film version of Les Misérables. His other film credits include the movie musical The Greatest Showman, The X-Men/Wolverine series, Prisoners, and the forthcoming The Front Runner, due November 6.

“I am delighted that Hugh Jackman will receive the 13th annual Kirk Douglas Award. He’s an exceptional talent of stage and screen, and one of the nicest people in the business. It’s my honor to have my name linked with his on this year’s award,” said Douglas in a statement.


Since 2006, the award has been given to a lifelong contributor to cinema through their work in front of the camera, behind, or both. Past honorees include Judi Dench, Warren Beatty, Jane Fonda, Jessica Lange, Forest Whitaker, Robert DeNiro, Michael Douglas, Harrison Ford, Quentin Tarantino, Ed Harris, and John Travolta.

Click here for ticket information.

Celebrating Tony Winner Hugh Jackman on the Stage

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!