Toronto's 2012 Dora Nominees Include War Horse, Next to Normal, Crash, Penelopiad, Kim's Convenience | Playbill

News Toronto's 2012 Dora Nominees Include War Horse, Next to Normal, Crash, Penelopiad, Kim's Convenience
Nominees for the 33rd Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards, recognizing excellence in Toronto's performing arts community, were announced June 5. The awards administered by the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA) address theatre, dance, opera and children's shows for the period between June 1, 2011, and May 22, 2012.

The awards ceremony will be hosted by Thom Allison on June 25 at the St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts in the Bluma Appel Theatre in Toronto.

In the General Theatre Production Division, Tarragon Theatre and Theatre Passe Muraille tied for the most company nominations with eight each. Passe Muraille's Crash and Nightwood Theatre's The Penelopiad tied for top production with six nominations each, followed by four each for The Golden Dragon (Tarragon), Topdog/Underdog (Obsidian Theatre Company in association with the Shaw Festival) and War Horse (Bob Boyett, Tim Levy, National Theatre of Great Britain, David Mirvish).

In the Independent Theatre Production Division, three companies tied for the lead: Ahuri Theatre's A Fool's Life, Theatre Columbus' The Story and Theatre Smash's The Ugly One, each earning six nominations. His Greatness (Independent Artists Repertory Theatre) and The Life and Times of Mackenzie King (VideoCabaret) followed with five noms each.

In the Musical Theatre Division, Acting Up Stage Company (in association with Obsidian Theatre Company) earned 10 nominations for Caroline, or Change (and with one nom in the General Theatre Division for Ride the Cyclone, making Acting Up Stage's total noms 11). Young People's Theatre's Seussical earned six nominations.

In the Opera Division, seven out of nine nominations went to Canadian Opera Company (COC) productions. COC's A Florentine Tragedy/Gianni Schicchi and Rigoletto (a new co-production of Canadian Opera Company and English National Opera) each earned five noms as did Queen of Puddings Music Theatre's SVADBA - Wedding. In the Dance Division, Gadfly's Klorofyl earned three nominations.

In the Theatre for Young Audiences Division Roseneath Theatre took the lead with four nominations — two for The Neverending Story and two for Tough Case.

In the Outstanding Touring Production category, the nominees are Next to Normal, How To Disappear Completely, The Shipment, La Liste (The List) and Ride the Cyclone.

In the Outstanding New Play category in the General Theatre Production Division, the nominees are Erin Fleck's Those Who Can't Do, Evan Webber's Ajax & Little Iliad, Ins Choi's Kim's Convenience, Pamela Mala Sinha's Crash, Tim Supple & Hanan al-Shaykh's One Thousand and One Nights.

Competing in the category of Outstanding New Play or Musical in the Independent Theatre Production Division are Adam Paolozza & Arif Mirabdolbaghi's The Double, Eric Woolfe's Doc Wuthergloom's Haunted Medicine Show, Heather Marie Annis, Amy Lee & Byron Laviolette's Morro And Jasp: Go Bake Yourself, Hume Baugh's Crush and Jules Lewis' Tomasso's Party.

For a complete list of nominees, visit


The Dora Mavor Moore Awards is a program of the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA). TAPA is an arts service organization that represents nearly 200 professional theatre, dance and opera companies in Toronto. In addition to the Doras, other programs and services provided by TAPA include: T.O. TIX - Toronto's Official One Stop Ticket Shop at Yonge-Dundas Square and online at; Toronto's official Theatre Guide; hipTIX, offering $5 tickets to students; citySPECIAL; the Commercial Theatre Development Fund; and the Travel Retreat Initiatives Program. For more information visit and

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!