Tuneful Tuesdays to Present The Suicide and The Thing About Joe

News   Tuneful Tuesdays to Present The Suicide and The Thing About Joe
The BMI–Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop has announced the line-up for Tuneful Tuesdays, its public presentation of new musicals.

The series, previously titled Musical Mondays, has now been pushed forward one day. As with its predecessor, Tuneful Tuesdays allows the public a chance to view what the participants of the BMI–Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop have been cooking up.

At 6:30 PM on Nov. 25, Tuneful Tuesdays will present Raymond Bokhour, Simon Gray and David Bridel's musical The Suicide. Directed by Patrick Smith, the cast includes Raymond Bokhour (Chicago), Christine Bokhour (Chicago, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels), David Costabile (Translations, Titanic), Bradley Dean (Spamalot), Kim Shriver (A Chorus Line, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels), David Spangenthal (Thoroughly Modern Millie), Jimmy Smagula (To Be or Not to Be, Man of La Mancha), Mark Sanders (Fiddler) and Eric Conklin.

The musical comedy The Thing About Joe, penned by Matthew Hardy and Randy Klein, will be presented at 4 PM on Dec. 2. Richard Sabellico will direct a cast including Trey Mitchell (Wonderful Town), Kevin B. McGlynn (All Shook Up, Kiss Me Kate), Aurelia Williams (All Shook Up) and David Shih (Honor, Stockholm).

Admission is $10. Reservations can be made by phoning (212) 989-6706, or by e-mailing MusicalMondays@aol.com. Tuneful Tuedays takes place at the Jerry Orbach Theater in the Snapple Theater Center, located at 210 West 50th Street at Broadway.

* Founded by Lehman Engel in 1961, the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop, fully funded by the BMI foundation at no cost to its participants, was created in order to nurture the craft of musical theatre by providing new writers with a testing ground for their work under the guidance of experienced professionals within the industry.

Notable alumni and members include Maury Yeston (Titanic, Grand Hotel, Nine), Alan Menken (Little Shop of Horrors, Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid), Jeff Marx and Robert Lopez (Avenue Q), Edward Kleban (A Chorus Line), Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty (Ragtime, Once on This Island, Dessa Rose), Gerard Alessandrini (Forbidden Broadway) and Michael John LaChiusa (Hello Again, Marie Christine, The Wild Party).

Today’s Most Popular News: