Tyne Daly, Ben Vereen, Ann Roth, Daniel Sullivan and More Inducted Into Theater Hall of Fame Jan. 30 | Playbill

News Tyne Daly, Ben Vereen, Ann Roth, Daniel Sullivan and More Inducted Into Theater Hall of Fame Jan. 30
Academy Award winner Estelle Parsons hosts The 41st Annual American Theater Hall of Fame ceremony, which is held Jan. 30 in the Gershwin Theatre's North Rotunda.

Ben Vereen
Ben Vereen

The 2011 Theater Hall of Fame inductees include actors Tyne Daly and Ben Vereen; costume designer Ann Roth; director Daniel Sullivan; producers George White, Elliot Martin and Woodie King Jr.; and, posthumously, director Paul Sills.

Presenters include Meryl Streep, Liza Minnelli, Brian Dennehy, Brian Murray, Jane Alexander and Phylicia Rashad.

Terry Hodge Taylor produces.

Founded in 1971 by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell and Gerard Oestriecher, each year the Theater Hall of Fame honors theatre professionals for Lifetime Achievement. Eligible nominees must have a minimum of five major credits and 25 years in the Broadway theatre. The inductees are voted on by the American Theater Critics Association and the members of the Theater Hall of Fame.

Nederlander Organization Chairman James M. Nederlander is the Honorary Chair. The induction ceremony will be followed by dinner at the New York Friars Club. Last year's inductees included actors Brian Dennehy, Linda Lavin and Fritz Weaver; director Michael Blakemore; playwright Caryl Churchill; conductor/music director Paul Gemignani; director-librettist James Lapine; and, posthumously, director-playwright Joseph Chaikin.

Daly, most recently seen on Broadway in Manhattan Theatre Club's revival of Master Class, won the Tony Award in 1990 for her performance in Gypsy and was nominated in 2006 for her performance in Rabbit Hole. She has also been seen on Broadway in The Seagull and That Summer – That Fall. She is a six-time Emmy Award winner for her work on "Cagney & Lacey," "Christy" and "Judging Amy."

Vereen won the Tony Award in 1973 for his performance in Pippin and was a Tony nominee for Jesus Christ Superstar. He has also been seen on Broadway in Hair, Grind, Jelly's Last Jam, Fosse, I'm Not Rappaport and Wicked. He has appeared Off-Broadway in The Prodigal Son and The Exonerated, and has also been seen in Madison Square Garden's A Christmas Carol.

Tyne Daly
photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN
Roth, a 2011 Tony nominee for Best Costume Design of a Musical for The Book of Mormon, has also been nominated for her designs on The House of Blue Leaves, The Crucifer of Blood, The Royal Family and Slow Dance on the Killing Ground. She has also recently designed costumes for Broadway's Hedda Gabler, Deuce, The Year of Magical Thinking The Vertical Hour and The Odd Couple, among others.

Sullivan won the Tony Award in 2001 for Best Direction of Proof. He has also been nominated for his direction of The Merchant of Venice, Rabbit Hole, Morning's at Seven, The Sisters Rosenweig, Conversations With My Father and The Heidi Chronicles. Most recently he directed Broadway's Good People and will direct the upcoming production of The Columnist.

Martin won a Special Tony Award in 1974 for A Moon for the Misbegotten, for which he was producer. He is a Tony Award nominee for A Touch of the Poet, Angels Fall, American Buffalo, Glengarry Glen Ross, Joe Turner's Come and Gone, The Circle, Shadowlands, She Loves Me and A Moon for the Misbegotten.

King, Jr. produced the Broadway productions of What the Wine-Sellers Buy, The First Breeze of Summer, Reggae, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf and Checkmates, which he also directed. He performed on Broadway in The Great White Hope.

White was the founder and president of the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center and hosted the National Playwrights Conference, National Critics Institute and National Music Theater Conference. He co-chaired the Theater Management Program at Yale (1978-92) and was founding chair of the Sundance Theater Institute and the National Council on the Arts.

Sills, who passed away in June 2008, produced and directed From the Second City, adapted and directed Paul Sills' Story Theatre, and conceived and directed Ovid's Metamorphoses.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!