Vogt and Burns to Join Broadway's Hairspray Jan. 30

News   Vogt and Burns to Join Broadway's Hairspray Jan. 30
Paul C. Vogt, who succeeded Harvey Fierstein as Edna Turnblad in the Las Vegas company of Hairspray, will join the Broadway company of that Tony-winning musical Jan. 30.
Paul C. Vogt stars as Edna in NSMT's Hairspray.
Paul C. Vogt stars as Edna in NSMT's Hairspray. Photo by Isaac Brekken

The musical at the Neil Simon Theatre will also welcome a new Wilbur that same day when Jere Burns joins the cast.

The hit production currently stars Shannon Durig as Tracy Turnblad, Diana DeGarmo as Penny Pingleton, Brynn O'Malley as Amber Von Tussle, Darlene Love as Motormouth Maybelle, Tevin Campbell as Seaweed J. Stubbs, Jonathan Dokuchitz as Corny Collins, Isabel Keating as Velma Von Tussle, Susan Mosher as the Female Authority Figure, Kevin Meaney as Male Authority Figure, Naturi Naughton as Inez and Ashley Parker Angel as Link Larkin.

Paul C. Vogt appeared in the Las Vegas and North Shore Music Theatre productions of Hairspray as well as Garry Marshall's Happy Days: The Family Musical! His other theatrical credits include Assassins, Much Ado About Nothing, Hamlet and Greater Tuna. On screen Vogt has been seen in "The Rerun Show," "MADtv," "Princess Diaries 2," "Good Boy" and "Raising Helen."

Jere Burns played Kirk Morris on TV’s “Dear John.” Last on Broadway in After the Night and the Music, his other stage credits include Don Juan, Egyptology, True West, Gillette, Diva and The Scottish Play.

In Hairspray "it's 1962 — the '50s are out and change is in the air. Baltimore's Tracy Turnblad, a big girl with big hair and an even bigger heart, has only one passion — to dance. She wins a spot on the local TV dance program, 'The Corny Collins Show' and, overnight, is transformed from outsider to irrepressible teen celebrity. But can a plus-size trendsetter in dance and fashion vanquish the program's reigning princess, win the heart of heartthrob Link Larkin, and integrate a television show without denting her 'do?" Hairspray is based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters, who serves as a creative consultant on the musical comedy. It features a book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan, and a score by five-time Academy Award nominee Marc Shaiman and lyrics by Shaiman and Scott Wittman.

Hairspray is directed by Jack O'Brien and choreographed by Jerry Mitchell; scenic design is by David Rockwell; costume design is by William Ivey Long; lighting design is by Kenneth Posner; and sound design is by Steve C. Kennedy.

Hairspray will celebrate its fifth anniversary on Broadway in August. It's the winner of eight 2003 Tony Awards, including Best Musical.

For more information about Hairspray, please consult www.hairsprayonbroadway.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: