Whitney Bashor and Steven Boyer Are Winners of Equity's Clarence Derwent Awards | Playbill

News Whitney Bashor and Steven Boyer Are Winners of Equity's Clarence Derwent Awards
Arne Gundersen, president of the Actors’ Equity Foundation, announced May 6 that the 2014 Clarence Derwent Awards for most promising female and male performers on the New York metropolitan scene have gone to Whitney Bashor and Steven Boyer.

Steven Boyer
Steven Boyer Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Bashor was recognized for her Broadway debut in The Bridges of Madison County, in which she plays dual roles and also understudies Kelli O’Hara. Boyer was cited for his performance in Off-Broadway’s Hand to God, presented by MCC Theater at the Lucille Lortel Theatre following a run at the Ensemble Studio Theatre. He also received a Lucille Lortel Award for this performance.

The award — a check and a crystal trophy — will be presented at Equity’s Eastern Regional Board meeting June 10 at the Equity offices.

The Derwent Award is the oldest award on Broadway, established in 1945 by Clarence Derwent, actor and president of Equity from 1946-1952. Past recipients include Nina Arianda, Annette Bening, Kristin Chenoweth, Morgan Freeman, Allison Janney, Frances Sternhagen, Christopher Walken, Fritz Weaver and, in 2013, Annaleigh Ashford and Michael Urie.

The judges’ panel included Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out New York; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; Harry Haun, Playbill; and David Rosenberg, The Hour Newspapers.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!