Wicked and Golda's Balcony Win Top Honors in 2006 Touring Broadway Awards

News   Wicked and Golda's Balcony Win Top Honors in 2006 Touring Broadway Awards
Winners of the 2006 Touring Broadway Awards were announced May 9 with Stephen Schwartz's Wicked named Best New Musical and William Gibson's Golda's Balcony voted Best Play.

The annual awards, established in 2001, are presented by the League of American Theatres and Producers. The awards were presented May 8 during a special ceremony at the Crowne Plaza Times Square.

Jed Bernstein, President of The League of American Theatres and Producers, said in a statement, "Touring Broadway plays a significant role in the cultural life of North America, entertaining and engaging audiences in 140 cities throughout the U.S. and Canada. We are proud to recognize the achievements of these productions and individuals with this year’s Touring Broadway Awards."

The 2006 Touring Broadway Award winners follow:

Best New Musical
Producers: Marc Platt, Universal Pictures, The Araca Group, Jon B. Platt and David Stone

Best Play
Golda’s Balcony
Author: William Gibson Producers: David Fishelson, Jerome L. Stern, Julia Amster Fishelson, Tony Cacciotti, Milton Maltz, Stephen E. Herman, Paul Lisak, Morton Swinsky, Jerry & Cindy Benjamin, Bernard L. Tansey Best Production Design
Scenic Design: Eugene Lee
Costume Design: Susan Hilferty
Lighting Design: Kenneth Posner

Best Musical Score
Music and Lyrics: Stephen Schwartz

Best Direction
Jack O’Brien

Best Choreography
Ann Reinking

Best Long-Running Musical (shows that have been on the road for over three years)
Les Miserables
Producer: Cameron Mackintosh

Touring Broadway Achievement Award (recognizing a performer, individual or organization that has shown exceptional dedication to Touring Broadway)
Clark Transfer – a full-service international theatrical transportation and logistics service

Visit www.touringbroadwayawards.com for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: