Winners of Henry Hewes Design Awards Announced | Playbill

News Winners of Henry Hewes Design Awards Announced
The annual Henry Hewes Design Awards will be presented during a luncheon ceremony at Sardi's Nov. 15.

Awards will be presented to a record 15 theatre artists during the afternoon event. Among those winners are 11 designers from the recent production of The Coast of Utopia, who will be honored with Special Citations for Outstanding Achievement in Theater Design: Angelina Avallone (makeup), Mark Bennett (sound), Bob Crowley (scenery), William Cusick (projections), Paul Huntley (hair and wigs), Natasha Katz (lighting), Brian MacDevitt (lighting), Scott Pask (scenery), Kenneth Posner (lighting), Tom Watson (hair and wigs) and Catherine Zuber (costumes).

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee, who nominated 66 theatre artists for outstanding work, also named winners in four distinct categories: Scenic Design (David Gallo for Radio Golf), Costume Design (Clint Ramos for The Madras House), Lighting Design (Kevin Adams for Spring Awakening) and Notable Effects (Kevin Cunningham for production design of Losing Something).

Originally titled the Maharam Awards and later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards, the awards were renamed in 1999 to honor founder Henry Hewes. The Henry Hewes Design Awards honor designers for work in venues on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off Off-Broadway.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theatre critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; David Barbour; Tish Dace; Michael Feingold; Glenda Frank; Mario Fratti; and Joan Ungaro.

For more information about the American Theatre Wing, visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!