Winners of Jimmy Awards Announced

PlayBlog   Winners of Jimmy Awards Announced
Two lucky high school students received Jimmy Awards for Best Performance by an Actor and Actress at the Second Annual National High School Musical Theater Awards at the Marquis Theatre June 28.

Alexandria Payne, of the Tri-Cities High School in Atlanta, GA, was recognized for playing Ti Moune in Once On This Island. Kyle Selig, of Long Beach, CA's Huntington Beach High School won for his performance as Don Lockwood in Singin' in the Rain.

Additional awards were presented to Sarah Schultz of Fullerton, CA (Best Performance in an Ensemble), Arsalan Akhavan of Atlanta (Most Improved) and Claire Gerig of Wichita, KS (Spirit of the Jimmy Awards).

The Jimmy Award, named for Broadway theatre owner and producer James M. Nederlander, includes a scholarship to each student to further their high school education and eligibility for scholarships to attend New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. The three additional award winners received scholarships “towards their future education,” according to organizers.

The ceremony was hosted by Kathie Lee Gifford and featured appearances by nine-time Tony Award winner Tommy Tune, The Addams Family’s Krysta Rodriguez and Adam Riegler, and A Little Night Music’s Hunter Ryan Herdlicka. The 44 competing students performed, as did the cast of Come Fly Away.

— Thomas Peter

Today’s Most Popular News: