Winners of Theatre World Awards to Be Announced May 10

News   Winners of Theatre World Awards to Be Announced May 10
The winners of the 67th Annual Theatre World Awards — honoring performers making their New York stage debuts on or Off-Broadway — will be announced May 10 at noon.

In addition to the Theatre World Award winners, winners of both the 3rd Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence and the 1st Annual Lunt-Fontanne Award for Ensemble Excellence will also be announced. The Theatre World Awards ceremony will be held in Manhattan June 7 from 2-4 PM ET at a venue to be announced. Past winners will perform and also present awards at the ceremony.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are among the oldest theatrical awards. Traditionally, a committee of theatre writers chooses six men and six women. On occasion, the awards bestow a Special Theatre World Award on "performers, casts or others who have made a particularly lasting impression on the New York theatre scene," as stated on the official Theatre World Awards website.

The Theatre World Award winners are chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, which includes David Cote (Time Out New York, NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (Newark Star-Ledger,, Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin' Broadway), Frank Scheck (The Hollywood Reporter) and Linda Winer (Newsday).

Today’s Most Popular News: