Writers Guild Award Nominations Announced; Aaron Sorkin's "Social Network" Among Nominees

News   Writers Guild Award Nominations Announced; Aaron Sorkin's "Social Network" Among Nominees
The Writers Guild of America announced its nominees for original, adapted and documentary screenplays Jan. 4.

"The Social Network," playwright and "West Wing" scribe Aaron Sorkin's look at the rise of Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg which was based on Ben Mezrich's book "The Accidental Millionaires," made the list for Best Adapted Screenplay.

A notable omission in that category is David Lindsay-Abaire's screenplay for "Rabbit Hole," based on his Pulitzer Prize-winning play about a family coping with their young son's death.

Winners will be honored at the 2011 Writers Guild Awards held Feb. 5 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

The complete list of nominees follows:

"Black Swan," screenplay by Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin; story by Andres Heinz (Fox Searchlight)
"The Fighter," screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson (Paramount Pictures)
"Inception," written by Christopher Nolan (Warner Bros.)
"The Kids Are All Right," written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg (Focus Features)
"Please Give," written by Nicole Holofcener (Sony Pictures Classics) BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
"127 Hours," screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy; based on the book "Between a Rock and a Hard Place" by Aron Ralston (Fox Searchlight)
"I Love You Phillip Morris," written by John Requa & Glenn Ficarra; based on the book by Steven McVicker (Roadside Attractions)
"The Social Network," screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; based on the book "The Accidental Billionaires" by Ben Mezrich (Sony Pictures)
"The Town," screenplay by Peter Craig and Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard; based on the novel "Prince of Thieves" by Chuck Hogan (Warner Bros.)
"True Grit," screenplay by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen; based on the novel by Charles Portis (Paramount Pictures)

"Enemies of the People," written, directed, filmed and produced by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath (International Film Circuit)
"Freedom Riders," written, produced and directed by Stanley Nelson (International Film Circuit)
"Gasland," written and directed by Josh Fox (HBO Documentary Films and International WOW Company)
"Inside Job," produced, written and directed by Charles Ferguson; co-written by Chad Beck, Adam Bolt (Sony Pictures Classics)
"The Two Escobars," written by Michael Zimbalist, Jeff Zimbalist (ESPN Films)
"Who Is Harry Nilsson (And Why Is Everybody Talkin’ About Him)?," written and directed by John Scheinfeld (Lorber Films)

For more information visit www.wga.org.


The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) and Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) are labor unions representing writers in motion pictures, television, cable, digital media, and broadcast news. 

Today’s Most Popular News: