Young Jean Lee Named Recipient of Windham-Campbell Prize | Playbill

Awards Young Jean Lee Named Recipient of Windham-Campbell Prize
Australian playwright Patricia Cornelius was the other winner in the drama category.
Young Jean Lee
Young Jean Lee Marc J. Franklin

Yale University has awarded playwrights Young Jean Lee (Straight White Men) and Patricia Cornelius (Love) the Windham-Campbell Prizes for drama. They are each the recipients of $165,000.

The Windham-Campbell Prizes were established in 2013 by novelist Donald Windham in memory of his partner, Sandy M. Campbell. The mission of the the prize is to call attention to literary achievement and provide writers working in English with the opportunity to focus on their work. Eight writers are awarded the prize annually in the categories of drama, nonfiction, fiction, and poetry.


The other 2019 winners included: in fiction, Danielle McLaughlin (Ireland) and David Chariandy (Canada); in nonfiction, Raghu Karnad (India) and Rebecca Solnit (United States); and in poetry, Ishion Hutchinson (Jamaica) and Kwame Dawes (Ghana/Jamaica/United States).

Prize recipients are nominated confidentially and judged anonymously.

In 2018, the prize was awarded to playwrights Suzan-Lori Parks (In the Blood, Fucking A) and Lucas Hnath (A Doll’s House, Part 2; The Christians).

For more information on the award, visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!