Ashley Blair Fitzgerald and Stephawn P. Stephens Will Join Levi Kreis in Arena Stage Smokey Joe's Café; Complete Cast Announced

News   Ashley Blair Fitzgerald and Stephawn P. Stephens Will Join Levi Kreis in Arena Stage Smokey Joe's Café; Complete Cast Announced
Arena Stage has announced the complete cast for its upcoming production of Smokey Joe's Café — The Songs of Leiber and Stoller, which will begin previews April 25 prior to an official opening May 8.

Directed by Randy Johnson, the production will continue through June 8 on the Fichandler Stage.

Joining the previously announced Tony Award winner Levi Kreis (Million Dollar Quartet, One Red Flower) and Helen Hayes Award winners E. Faye Butler (Pullman Porter Blues, Oklahoma!) and Nova Y. Payton (Dreamgirls, Hairspray) are Jay Adriel (Guys and Dolls, Legally Blonde), Austin Colby (Crossing and Spin, Spring Awakening), Ashley Blair Fitzgerald (Company, Come Fly Away), Michael J. Mainwaring (Dreamgirls, Oliver), Stephawn P. Stephens (Crowns, Dreamgirls) and Kara-Tameika Watkins (A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, Camelot).

"Smokey Joe's Café is a foot-stomping celebration of Leiber and Stoller's treasured songbook," artistic director Molly Smith said in a statement. "I'm thrilled to welcome back our dear friend Randy Johnson and also the marvelously versatile cast he has assembled. I'm sure they will raise the roof in bringing these timeless tunes to life."

"When Molly called and asked to me direct Smokey Joe's Café, I didn't even let her finish the sentence—it was going to be a 'yes!,'" Johnson added. "I am so happy to be directing my friend Mike Stoller's classic musical, and it's very fitting that my next theatrical venture — after my recent Broadway debut as a director and playwright with A Night with Janis Joplin — is at Arena Stage. It's wonderful to be back in D.C. at my theatrical 'home,' where I've felt incredibly supported and nurtured."

The band for Smokey Joe's Café features Victor Simonson, James Davis, Jr., George Hummel, Steven Walker, Dan Hall, Danny Villanueva and Carroll Dashiell III. The creative team comprises set and projection designer Caite Hevner Kemp, costume designer Ilona Somogyi, lighting designer Dan Ozminkowski, sound designer Carl Casella, wig designer Anne Nesmith, assistant choreographer Jessica Hartman, stage manager Kurt Hall, assistant stage manager Christi B. Spann and musical contractor Rita Eggert. Choreography is by Parker Esse and music direction is by Victor Simonson. 

More information is available by visiting

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!