Avenue Q's Tartaglia and Caroline's Rose Win Derwent Awards

News   Avenue Q's Tartaglia and Caroline's Rose Win Derwent Awards
Anika Noni Rose of Caroline, or Change and John Tartaglia of Avenue Q have won the 59th annual Clarence Derwent Awards honoring "the most promising female and male performers on the New York metropolitan scene."

John Tartaglia and Anika Noni Rose
John Tartaglia and Anika Noni Rose

Each will receive $2,000 and an engraved crystal trophy.

Rose plays Emmie Thibodeaux, rebellious daughter of the title character in Caroline. Tartaglia gives life to the puppet characters of Princeton and Rod in Avenue Q. Both have been nominated for Tony Awards.

Established in 1944 by actor and former Actors’ Equity Association President Clarence Derwent, The Derwent Awards are the oldest awards on Broadway. Past recipients include Annette Bening, Kristin Chenoweth, Calista Flockhart, Gene Hackman, Dana Ivey, John Malkovich, Ann Reinking, George C. Scott, Frances Sternhagen, Gene Wilder and James Woods.

This year’s panel of judges included Clive Barnes, New York Post; Irene Backalenick, Back Stage; Betty Corwin, Director of Special Projects, Theatre on Film and Tape Collection of the Lincoln Center Library for the Performing Arts; Charles Isherwood, Variety; Dana Ivey, Actor; Michael Kuchwara, Associated Press; Patrick Quinn, President of Actors' Equity; David Rosenberg, Back Stage; Michael Sommers, Newhouse Newspapers; Douglas Watt, The Daily News; and Carl Harms.

The awards presentation will be held June 13 at the Eastern Regional Board meeting of Actors’ Equity Association at the Equity offices on West 46th Street.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!