De Lappe, Gilbert, Mazzella and Press to Receive 2007 Tony Honors

News   De Lappe, Gilbert, Mazzella and Press to Receive 2007 Tony Honors
The 2007 Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre were announced Oct. 2 by the Tony Awards Administration Committee.
Neil Mazzella
Neil Mazzella

The Tony Honors, according to a press release, "recognize contributions to the field of theatre for individuals and organizations that are not eligible in any of the established Tony categories." This year's winners will be presented with their awards at the Tony Honors luncheon Oct. 30 at Tavern on the Green. Winners of the 2007 Tony honors include Gemze De Lappe, Alyce Gilbert, Neil Mazzella and Seymour "Red" Press.

De Lappe danced in the original production of Carousel and has spent years re-creating much of the choreography of the late Agnes de Mille. She has mounted productions of Oklahoma!, Brigadoon and Carousel.

Gilbert, a wardrobe supervisor, has worked on and Off-Broadway for nearly four decades. She is currently Wicked’s wardrobe supervisor.

Mazzella, who owns and runs Hudson Scenic Studios, has built scenery for over 200 Broadway and touring productions.

Press began his career a half-century ago in the orchestra of The Body Beautiful. Since that time he has served as musical coordinator or contractor for more than 58 Broadway shows.

The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards are presented by the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!