Kennedy Center Reveals 2018 Recipients of Stephen Sondheim Inspirational Teacher Awards

Education News   Kennedy Center Reveals 2018 Recipients of Stephen Sondheim Inspirational Teacher Awards
Created in 2010, the honors are presented yearly on March 22, Sondheim’s birthday.
Stephen Sondheim
Stephen Sondheim

The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts has announced the four teachers who have been selected as recipients of the 2018 Stephen Sondheim Inspirational Teacher Awards.

The 2018 recipients are: Catherine Albers of Oregon, Wisconsin; Askia Egashira of Brooklyn, New York; Dennis McDavid of Oak Park, Michigan; and Caryn Obert of Staten Island, New York.

Now in their eighth year, the awards recognize inspiring teachers in any field of education across the U.S.


Each year, nominations are solicited from the general public, who are invited to submit their personal stories about educators—from kindergarten through college—who made a significant impact on their lives.

The Kennedy Center/Stephen Sondheim Inspirational Teacher Awards are presented each year on Sondheim’s birthday, March 22. Recipients each receive a $10,000 prize. Their stories, as told by the nominating students, are featured on a website dedicated to inspirational teachers.

Myrna and Freddie Gershon, who fund the annual awards, established the honor in celebration of Sondheim’s 80th birthday. Since its creation in 2010, a total of 75 teachers have been recognized for their influence on students in a wide variety of disciplines—not just the arts. To date, $750,000 has been bestowed since the awards’ inception.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!