Lane and Broderick Walk Into the Sunset — Again — in Broadway's Producers April 4

News   Lane and Broderick Walk Into the Sunset — Again — in Broadway's Producers April 4
Nathan Lane and Matthew Broderick end their three month return to Broadway's The Producers April 4, with Brad Oscar and Roger Bart waiting in the wings to take over at the St. James Theatre.

Nathan Lane (left) and Matthew Broderick in The Producers
Nathan Lane (left) and Matthew Broderick in The Producers Photo by Paul Kolnick

During the cold winter months, after a period of general box office decline for the Tony Award-winning smash, the well-paid original 2001 stars of the show were even more well-paid and pumped life into the box office. Tickets quickly sold out in late 2003 for their Dec. 30-April 4 return. Also returning to the show were Tony Award winner Gary Beach as Roger DeBris and Tony nominee Roger Bart as Carmen Ghia.

Nathan Lane now moves onto Lincoln Center Theater to rehearse and star in his own revision of Stephen Sondheim and Burt Shevelove's The Frogs, directed and choreographed by Susan Stroman (The Producers).

Both Bart and Oscar (who ascend to the leads April 6) have previously played the parts of Leo and Max (respectively) in New York, with Tony Award nominee Oscar famously stepping in for an ailing Nathan Lane as Max Bialystock in the original cast run (2001-02) and then taking over the part after Lane left and Henry Goodman was sacked (spring 2002). Oscar originally played the show's Franz Liebkind, a deranged Nazi playwright-composer, and snagged the 2001 Tony nomination for Featured Actor in a Musical for his work (Gary Beach took home the trophy).

Bart, who was also Tony-nommed in 2001 (opposite Beach and Oscar), won the 1999 Tony Award for Best Featured Actor in a Musical for playing Snoopy in You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown. He moved into the Leo role in late 2002, playing it for a stretch with Oscar as his foil.

* The Producers opened on Broadway on April 19, 2001. It won the 2001 Tony for Best Musical and set the record for most Tonys ever won by a single show. Susan Stroman directed and choreographed the hit, and Mel Brooks penned songs and co-wrote the book with Thomas Meehan.

The current troupe also includes 2001 Tony Award winner Gary Beach (Roger DeBris), John Treacy Eagan (Franz Liebkind), Brad Musgrove (Carmen Ghia) and Angie Schworer (Ulla), with Justin Bohan, Jim Borstelmann, Jennifer Cleppenger, Angie C. Creighton, Madeleine Doherty, Kathy Fitzgerald, Robert H. Fowler, Adrienne Gibbons, Eric Gunhus, Kimberly Hester, Stacey Todd Holt, Shauna Hoskin, Kimberly Jones, Kevin Ligon, Peter Marinos, Mike McGowan, Larry Raben, Jason Patrick Sands, Jennifer Smith, Jenny-Lynn Suckling, Tracy Terstriep and Courtney Young.

Tickets range $30-$100. Visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!