London's Olivier Awards to Be Broadcast Live on BBC Radio 2, Plus Webcast

News   London's Olivier Awards to Be Broadcast Live on BBC Radio 2, Plus Webcast
 
The U.K.'s Laurence Olivier Awards will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 2 in a special two-hour program 8-10 PM U.K. time (3-5 PM ET) on March 21, direct from the Grosvenor House Hotel.

This is in addition to the previously announced live web streaming, on www.oliverawards.co.uk, beginning at 6:30 PM U.K. time (1:30 PM ET) that evening. The radio show will be hosted by BBC Radio 2 presenter Paul Gambaccini, who will offer live interviews and reactions from the winners plus behind-the-scenes insights from the awards' host, actor Anthony Head, and special guests. West End star Jodie Prenger, currently appearing in Oliver! at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane, will also meet the nominees as they arrive on the red carpet.

The Laurence Olivier Awards were created in 1976 as The Society of West End Theatre Awards to recognize excellence on the London stage, and became The Laurence Olivier Awards in 1984 when Lord Olivier agreed to have his name associated with them. The awards include 25 categories, although they are not all given each year: 20 for theatre, two for opera, two for dance, one for productions presented by SOLT's (Society of London Theatre) affiliate members and the Laurence Olivier Audience Award, for which members of the public are invited to vote for their favorite long-running show. Voting is open to March 17.

To listen live to Radio 2 online, visit www.bbc.co.uk/radio2.

Today’s Most Popular News: