Neil Patrick Harris Honored As Hasty Pudding Theatricals' Man of the Year Feb. 7

News   Neil Patrick Harris Honored As Hasty Pudding Theatricals' Man of the Year Feb. 7
Harvard's Hasty Pudding Theatricals, the oldest theatrical organization in the United States, honors Emmy Award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris as its 2014 Man of the Year Award Feb. 7. Dame Helen Mirren was recently celebrated as the 2014 Woman of the Year.

Neil Patrick Harris
Neil Patrick Harris

Presented by The Related Companies, the festivities include a celebratory roast for Harris at Farkas Hall, the Hasty Pudding’s home, where he will be presented with his Pudding Pot. A press conference will be held at 8:30 PM following the roast. Afterward, the Pudding will present the opening-night performance of its 166th production, Victorian Secrets. Harris will also receive a tour of the new Hasty Pudding Headquarters, which recently relocated to Hyde-Taylor House in Harvard Square.

“I assume this is for that pudding wrestling competition I won last April...right?” said Harris in a previous statement. “It was dark and seemed quite seedy at the time - I'm stoked that it's connected with Harvard. Fancy! Can't wait!”

“We are pleased to present Mr. Harris with our Man of the Year Award honoring his distinguished contributions to the arts and entertainment industry,” added Tony Oblen, '14, president of the Hasty Pudding Theatricals. “With his enviable reputation as a host and showman, we look forward to hosting Mr. Harris for an entertaining and unforgettable evening to recognize his achievements.”

The Man and Woman of the Year Awards are presented annually to "performers who have made lasting and impressive contributions to the world of entertainment," according to press notes.

Established in 1951, the Woman of the Year Award has been given to many notable entertainers, including Bernadette Peters, Meryl Streep, Katharine Hepburn, Julia Roberts, Jodie Foster, Elizabeth Taylor, Anne Hathaway, Claire Danes and Marion Cotillard. The Man of the Year award was established in 1963. Its past recipients include Clint Eastwood, Tom Cruise, Robert de Niro, Steven Spielberg, Harrison Ford, Anthony Hopkins, Bruce Willis, Justin Timberlake, Jason Segel and Kiefer Sutherland. Harris, who will return to Broadway in Hedwig and the Angry Inch, currently stars as Barney Stinson in the hit CBS television series, “How I Met Your Mother,” a role which has garnered him multiple Emmy and Golden Globe Award nominations. He is a four-time Emmy Award winner for his guest-starring role on "Glee," and as host of the 63rd, 65th and 66th Annual Tony Awards. He also served as host and producer of the 61st and 65th Primetime Emmy Awards, as well as the 67th Annual Tony Awards.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!