New York Film Critics Circle Announces 2005 Award Winners

News   New York Film Critics Circle Announces 2005 Award Winners
William Hurt, who received a Tony nomination for his work in the 1984 production of Hurlyburly, was named Best Supporting Actor by the New York Film Critics Circle for his performance in "A History of Violence."

The Critics Circle, which announced its decisions Dec. 12, named "Brokeback Mountain" Best Picture of 2005 with that film's director, Ang Lee, Best Director.

Heath Ledger, who plays gay cowboy Ennis Del Mar in "Brokeback," was honored with the Best Actor prize, while Reese Witherspoon received Best Actress honors for her performance in "Walk the Line."

Others honored by the New York Film Critics Circle include Werner Herzog (Best Non-Fiction Films for "Grizzly Man" and "White Diamond"), "2046" (Best Foreign-Language Film), Bennett Miller (Best First Film for "Capote"), "Howl's Moving Castle" (Best Animated Feature), Maria Bello (Best Supporting Actress for "A History of Violence"), Christopher Doyle, Lai Yiu Fai and Kwan Pun Leung (Best Cinematography for "2046") and Noah Baumbach (Best Screenplay for "The Squid and the Whale").

The New York Film Critics Circle, according to its official website, "is comprised of critics from daily and weekly newspapers and magazines based in New York." The group's annual awards dinner will be held at Cipriani's Jan. 8, 2006.

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!